Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Tripura CM, BJP leaders to campaign in Mizoram

Tripura CM, BJP leaders  to campaign in Mizoram

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 Oct 2018 6:23 AM GMT

Agartala/Aizawl: Tripura Chief Minister Biplab Kumar Deb and other state BJP leaders would campaign for the party in the November 28 Assembly polls in Congress ruled Mizoram, a party official said here on Tuesday.

“The Chief Minister left for Mizoram on Tuesday while Social Welfare Minister Santana Chakma and party legislator Shambhu Lal Chakma and party General Secretary Pratima Bhowmik are already camping in the poll bound state,” Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) spokesman Nabendu Bhattacharjee told the media.

He said that Deb (also the BJP’s Tripura Pradesh President) and other state leaders would address election rallies and party workers’ meet in Mizoram.

Bhattacharjee said: “Tripura Chief Minister is the star attraction for the party in the ongoing election campaign in the Congress ruled state as under his leadership the BJP crushed the Left rule in Tripura after 25 consecutive years.”

At least five of the 40 Assembly constituencies in Mizoram share borders with Tripura, which has a 109 km border with the Christian-dominated state.

BJP President Amit Shah, who kicked-off the election campaign in Mizoram last week, announced the party would field candidates in all the 40 Assembly seats of the state.

BJP leaders in Mizoram have been asserting that they would make all-out efforts to remove the Congress from power in the state to “paint the northeast with the saffron colour”.Mizoram is the only state ruled by the Congress in the region.

The BJP is making intensive efforts to win the Christian-dominated state, after having formed governments on its own or by forming alliances in the remaining six northeastern states, excluding Sikkim.

Meanwhile, the ruling Congress suffered a major setback after state Home Minister and senior party leader R. Lalzirliana and three sitting legislators, Lalrinliana Sailo, Buddha Dhan Chakma, both former ministers, and Hmingdailova Khiangte resigned from the party. (IANS)

Next Story