Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Delhi knock out Mumbai from IPL play-offs

Delhi knock out Mumbai from IPL play-offs

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 May 2018 6:30 PM GMT

New Delhi, May 20: Delhi Daredevils (DD) rode a strong bowling display to notch up an 11-run victory and eliminate Mumbai Indians from the race for the Indian Premier League (IPL) play-offs at the Ferozshah Kotla here on Sunday.

Chasing a target of 175 runs in what was a must-win encounter for them, Mumbai were bundled out for 163 runs in 19.3 overs.

Mumbai thus completed the league phase with 12 points from their 14 matches. With Rajasthan Royals already on 14 points and Sunrisers Hyderabad, Chennai Super Kings and Kolkata Knight Riders already qualified, defending champions Mumbai saw their title defence come to an end.

But it was by no means an easy victory. Despite losing wickets at regular intervals, Mumbai kept up a healthy scoring rate and kept the packed stadium on the edge of their seats till the very end.

Leggie Amit Mishra was the most successful among the Delhi bowlers with figures of 3/19 in his four overs. Sandeep Lamichhane claimed 3/36 while Harshal Patel returned with figures of 3/28.

Mumbai suffered their first jolt in the opening over when Suryakumar Yadav (12) holed out to long-on off the bowling of Sandeep Lamichhane.

Yadav had smashed Lamichhane for a boundary and a six off the first two balls of the innings.

Mishra struck in the seventh over when Vijay Shankar pulled off an excellent catch at the long-on boundary of Ishan Kishan (5).

Mishra jolted again in his next over, getting rid of Mumbai opener Evin Lewis, who was just two runs short of his half-century.

Lewis was in good touch, scoring 48 runs off 31 balls with the help of three boundaries and four hits into the stands.

Lamichhane then got rid of Kieron Pollard (7) and Krunal Pandya (4) in the very next over to leave the visitors reeling at 78/5 in the 10th over.

Brief scores: Delhi Daredevils: 174/4 in 20 overs (Rishabh Pant 64, Vijay Shankar 43 n.o.) beat Mumbai Indians: 163 in 19.3 overs (Evin Lewis 48; Sandeep Lamichhane 3/36, Harshal Patel 3/28, Amit Mishra 3/19) by 11 runs. IANS

Next Story