Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Rashpal Singh, Jyoti Gawte defend New Delhi Marathon 2020 titles

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  24 Feb 2020 10:49 AM GMT

New Delhi: Elite Indian runners Rashpal Singh and Jyoti Gawte thwarted a strong field of runners to successfully retain their crown at the IDBI Federal Life Insurance New Delhi Marathon 2020 here on Sunday.

Army Sports Institute’s (Pune), Rashpal who began as a strong favorite, lived up to his top billing and finished the Full Marathon (42.2k) with an impressive time of 2:23:29 hours to pocket the coveted title.

Jyoti of Maharashtra proved to be untouchable in the women’s category, winning the title in a canter. She completed the grueling Full Marathon which was flagged-off from Jawaharlal Nehru Stadium in 2:50:37 hours, with almost 8 minutes to spare.

Over 22,000 runners braved the early morning chills and lined up for the 5th edition of the IDBI Federal Life Insurance New Delhi Marathon, in four different categories; the Full Marathon (42.2k), Half Marathon (21.1k), 10K Timed Run and 5K Swacch Bharat Run.

IDBI Federal Life Insurance brand ambassador, Sachin Tendulkar flagged-off all the races and inspired the runners with heartfelt words of encouragement. He even obliged the star-struck participants with selfies and honored the winners later in the day too.

Rashpal, who has been going through a great run off late avoided taking risks initially and maintained a steady pace to keep his nose ahead of the rest and increased his speed only during the final phase to come out victorious.

Arjun Pradhan representing the Indian Army claimed the runner-up position after he took 2:24:18 hours to finish his run, while his team-mate Sanvroo Yadav ended with a time of 2:25:34 hours to win the bronze medal.

While the men’s category was a closely fought affair, the women’s competition turned out to be a lop-sided contest with Jyoti winning by a huge margin and further consolidating her position as one of the top marathoners of India.

Swati Gadhave won the silver medal with a time of 2:58:10 hours, while Jigmet Dolma had to be content with bronze after she completed the full marathon in 3:03:10 hours.

In the 21.1k Half Marathon, Brimin Kipruto Komen bagged the top prize in the men’s category by clocking 01:09:27 hours. It turned out to be a tough fight for the second place with Ajeet Singh eventually claiming the second spot by posting a time of 01:10:34 hours, just .9 seconds ahead of Amit Khanduri.

In the women’s category, Tashi Lodol stole the limelight to win the gold by clocking 1:28:28 hours, trailed by Stanzin Chondol (01:31:13 hours) & Stanzin Dolkar (01:31:43 hours). IANS

Also Read: Over 55,000 runners lace-up for Tata Mumbai Marathon

Also Watch: Assam government to provide arsenic-free drinking water in river island Majuli

Next Story