Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Manipur's Mirabai Chanu Wins 'BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year' Award For 2021

In the third edition of the BBC Indian sportswoman of the year award held in New Delhi, Mirabai Chanu has been declared the winner.

Manipurs Mirabai Chanu Wins BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year Award For 2021

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  29 March 2022 7:35 AM GMT

NEW DELHI: Olympic silver medalist Saikhom Mirabai Chanu has been announced as the winner of the BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year Award for the year 2021.

The Indian weightlifter has won the third edition of BBC Indian sportswoman for the year, an initiative by the BBC to celebrate and honour sportswomen from India with excellence in their respective fields.

In 2021, Mirabai Chanu from the northeastern state of Manipur has made history by becoming the first-ever weightlifter from India to win a silver medal at the Tokyo Olympics 2020.

In speaking about her recent achievement, Mirabai Chanu thanked the sports broadcasting company BBC India for honouring her with the BBC Indian Sportswoman of the Year Award 2021.

She further informed about her current training going on in the United States of America for the upcoming Asian and Commonwealth Games 2022.

The Olympic medalist said that she will be giving her best to bring the gold medal in this year's Asian and Commonwealth Games.

The director-general of BBC India, Tim Davie hosted the award ceremony held in New Delhi and congratulated Mirabai Chanu by regarding her as the most deserving winner of the award.

The youngest female cricketer, Shafali Verma from Haryana who represented India in the 2019 women's T20 International tournament is honoured with the BBC 'Emerging Player Award.'

Karnam Malleswari, the first woman from India to win a medal in the 2000 Olympics won the BBC 'Lifetime Achievement Award' in the BBC sportswomen award ceremony.

The Olympians and Paralympians from the Tokyo Games including the Indian hockey teams of both men and women were hounoured in the third edition of the BBC Indian sportswoman of the year award.

Also read: Desai, Padhiyar Win Gold as India Sign Off With 14 Medals

Also watch:

Next Story