AIUDF mes 16 candidates, may field 4 more in first phase

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, March 12: The All India United Democratic Front (AIUDF) today med 16 candidates it will field in the first phase of the upcoming Assam assembly elections.

Announcing the list, AIUDF general secretary and legislature party leader Hafiz Bashir Ahmed Qasimi said his party will field four more candidates in the first phase, the mes of which will be announced in a day or two.

In all, the AIUDF will field candidates in 75 seats.

According to the list announced today, AIUDF leader Korimuddin Borbhuyan will contest from Soi while Anowar Hussain Laskar will fight from Hailakandi.

Shahjahan Ali will contest from Khumtai while Sanjeev Rajkhowa will fight the polls from Jorhat with AIUDF ticket. Gayatri Baruah Kalita will contest from Amguri and her counterpart in Tezpur is Dilip th. Debendra Kumar Sinha will contest from Patharkandi, Nijamuddin Chaudhury from Algapur and Aziz Ahmed Khan from South Karimganj.

Rajiv Biswas will contest from Ratabari, Abdul Aziz from Badarpur, Dipak Chetia from Lakhimpur, Khaliluddin Ahmed from Katigora, Mamun Imdadul Haq Chaudhury from oboisa and Syed Jahid Abdulla from Golaghat.

When asked about the AIUDF's role in the March 21 Rajya Sabha elections, Qasimi said his party is yet to discuss the matter.

When pointed out that party president Badruddin Ajmal had yesterday tweeted that the party legislators will abstain from voting, the general secretary said it was Ajmal's "persol view."

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam