Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

ASEAN jourlists interact with Assam Chief Secretary

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  16 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, March 15: As part of their familiarization visit, 17 senior jourlists from nine ASEAN countries visited Guwahati yesterday and interacted with the Chief Secretary to the Government of Assam, Jitesh Khosla in a dinner programme organized at Alfresco Grand, a river cruise on the Brahmaputra River off Ujanbazar ghat.

During the interaction, the Chief Secretary dealt length on the immense potentials of the region in the sectors like agriculture, agri-processing, wildlife, eco-tourism and industry. He said, “Guwahati is a large and important trading hub”. He also stated that there are various similarities between Assam and other Northeastern states with the Southeast Asian countries with respect to culture, lifestyle, food habits and the likes. Other senior officials of the State Government were also present in the programme.

Earlier in the day, the jourlists visited Indian Institute of Technology (IIT), Guwahati and participated in an interaction programme held with the Director and other important officials of the Institute. The Director of IIT, Guwahati, Prof. Gautam Biswas gave a brief presentation on the inception, present status, courses and programmes etc., of the Institution. The welcome address was delivered by Dean of Alumni Affairs and Exterl Relations, Prof. Subhash C. Mishra. Later, the team of jourlists took a tour of the campus of the premier institute.

It may be noted that the senior jourlists are on a familiarization visit to the country under ASEAN-India Media Exchange programme that started from March 10 last. The team left for Shillong today.

The team of jourlists comprises Anoma Rathida of Laos; Hul Reaksmey and Sao Phal Niseiy of Phnom Penh; Regi Abuyuan and Julie Ande Miranda Aurelio of Phillipines; Luong Nguyen An Dien and Tran Thi Bich Hanh of Vietm; Nyein Chan Lin and Ye Myint of Myanmar; Ranggini Krish and Muhamad Al Azhari Anwar of Jakarta; Phatsurang Dechabuddharungsi and Poochanok Rukthai of Thailand; Ha zsulaeeqa Harun and S. Mailaselvan of Malaysia; Reeta Raman and Albert Wai of Singapore.

Next Story