Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Biplab to take over reins, Tripura oath on Friday

Biplab to take over reins, Tripura oath on Friday

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  7 March 2018 12:00 AM GMT


AGARTALA, March 6: BJP state president Biplab Deb has been elected leader of the newly elected 35-member BJP legislature party today and staked claim to the governor Tathagata Roy to form the Government. The Governor immediately accepted the claim and called him to form the Ministry.

The newly elected leader was accompanied by BJP tiol general Secretary Ram Madhab, party’s State ‘provary’ Sunil Deodhar, N C Debbarma, president of the BJP’s electoral ally IPFT and other legislators.

After coming out of the Raj Bhawan Biplab Deb told the reporters that the Governor has accepted his claim and invited to form the Government. He said the new Ministry will take oath of office and secrecy on Friday next at a specially organized program at Assam Rifles ground here.

He said the Prime Minister rendra Modi has kindly give consent to remain present in the swearing-in ceremony. All the Chief Ministers of the 19 BJP-ruling States besides many other dignitaries will be invited to attend the swearing-in ceremony.

While his attention was drawn to the post-poll violence in different parts of the State, he said: “I am yet to take charge but urged everyone to maintain peace. He also urged the police to take appropriate action against the trouble makers.

Earlier, he was elected leader of the BJP legislature party in the morning at State guest house where two Central observers Nitin Gadkari and Geol Oram was present. He was elected unimously.

In an unusual step the meeting also elected Jishnu Debbarma as deputy leader of the BLP though he is yet to be elected as a legislator. Jishnu Debbarma, a royal scion, filed nomition for the Charilam constituency (ST) but the election was countermanded due to the death of the CPI (M) candidate and rescheduled to be held on March 12.

A spokesman of the party said the meeting also decided that Jishnu Debbarma will be the deputy Chief Minister of the new Ministry and will take oath along with the Chief Minister on Friday before being elected in the Assembly.

NC Debbarma, president of the IPFT, said: “We are happy that a new Ministry is going to be formed”, but expressed reservation over the decision of electing Jishnu Debbarma as the Deputy Chief Minister. He said the decision was taken before we reached the State Guest House.

Later, he along with seven other IPFT legislator met Ram Madhav and apprised him of their sentiments and pre-poll discussions when they were assured that the Deputy CM post will go to the IPFT in the case of forming Ministry. However, Ram Madhab assured them Himanta Biswa Sharma will come tomorrow and the matter will be looked into, said Debbarma.

Next Story