Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP-AGP make stunning comeback in Sivasagar district

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 May 2016 12:00 AM GMT


SIVASAGAR, May 19: In Sivasagar district, out of four seats, Bharatiya Jata Party (BJP) and its alliance Asom Ga Parishad (AGP) got two while Congress could retain two seats.

According to data available, Assam Assembly Speaker Prab Gogoi retained his traditiol 108-Sivasagar LAC by defeating his nearest BJP rival Surabhi Rajkumari in a close contest by a margin of 542 votes. Prab Gogoi bagged 48,584 votes, while Rajkumari maged to get 48,042 votes. The other candidates who contested from the prestigious Sivasagar LAC are Jiten Borpatra Gohain (CPI) who got 2,174 votes, Dilchand Hussain Ahmed (AIUDF) got 663 votes, Dr Gunin Basumatary (LDP) got 559 votes and Jayanta Rajkonwar (Trimool BJP) got 1,506 votes. Independent candidate Aswini Chetia secured third position by getting 10,188 votes.

While, former minister in AGP regime and BJP-AGP alliance candidate Pradip Hazarika made a stunning comeback and clinched victory in 103-Amguri LAC by defeating his rival INC candidate Angkita Dutta. Angkita Dutta is the daughter of APCC president Anjan Dutta. Hazarika secured 41,894 votes while Dutta remained happy with 40,325 votes. The other candidates Gayatri Bora Kalita (AIUDF) got 873 votes, Raj Kumar Duwarah (All India Forward Block) received 699 votes, and Independent candidates Anuwar Hussain got 671 votes, Jardan Hazarika got 3,419 votes, Dilram Karmakar got 1,043 votes and Dulal Barua got 5,490 votes.

On the other hand, sitting MLA of 107-Thowra LAC Sushanta Borgohain who was fielded by INC lost to former MLA and BJP candidate Kushal Duwari by a rrow margin of 1,126 votes. While Duwari bagged 41,560 votes, Borgohain secured 40,334 votes. From 104-zira LAC, INC’s sitting MLA Debabrata Saikia retained his seat trouncing BJP’s Prahlad Gowala.

Next Story