BJP mes 30 TAC poll candidates

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, July 27: The BJP today med candidates for the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) polls slated to be held on August 19.

Talking to newsmen in the city today, senior BJP leader and former State PWD minister Atul Bora said that the party med candidates for all the 30 TAC constituencies where polls would be held.

Apart from four seats to be nomited by the Governor, the TAC has 36 other constituencies, the break-up being 11 in gaon, 19 in Morigaon and 6 in Kamrup (M) in the Dimoria area. However, with State Election Commissioner HN Bora adjourning the process of TAC elections in the six TAC constituencies in the Dimoroa in Kamrup Metro district recently, the TAC elections will be held only in 30 seats. The six TAC constituencies in Dimoria where the election process has been adjourned are 26-Dimoria, 32-Digaru, 33-Khetri, 34-Sopur, 45-Ampri and 36-Phong-Ari.

Atul Bora said: “We’re hopeful of winning maximum seats. We have given party tickets to only candidates with bright winning prospects. We’ve given tickets to six women candidates also.”

Twenty-seven of the 30 candidates who go BJP tickets are Ahini Konwar Pator for 1-Jamadari (ST, women), Ankur Deori for 2-Borongoni (ST), zira Pator for 3-Bhurbandha, Banda Bordoloi for 4-Konwargaon (ST, women), Kak Pator for 5-Dhekiphala (ST), Dipak Bangthai for 6-Manikpur (ST), Dilip Bordoloi for 7-Garmari (ST), Mihiram Bordoloi for 8-Gharua (ST), Sikheswar Pator for 10-Tetelia (ST), Binita Daimary for 11-Junbeel (ST), Dharmeswar Bordoloi for 12-No-Khula (ST), Ji Ram Pator for 13-Nelie Khala, Pitambor Bordoloi for 15-Bihubori (ST), Kamal Bora for 16-Solmari (open), Binod Pator for 17-Bhumurguri (ST), Biju Bordoloi for 18-Charipunia Chabukdhara (ST), Sampeswar Bordoloi for 19-Borchila (ST), Boby Bordoloi for 20-Baropujia (ST, women), Mamu Rani Gaonkhowa for 21-Topakuchi (ST, women), Diganta Deka for 22-Pukhuripar (open), Ankurjyoti Bora for 23-Jorabari (open), Ava Rani Medhi for 25-Cachari (open), Prab Boro for 27-Kaki (open), Bokul Deori for 29-Kumargaon (ST), Jugal Pator for 30-mbor Lalung (ST) and Victor Barman for 31-Lalungpar (ST).

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam