Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP mes 88 candidates, Tasa to take on Gogoi in Titabor

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  10 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, March 9: BJP MP from Jorhat Kamakhya Prasad Tasa will take on Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi from Titabor in the upcoming assembly elections. State BJP president Sarbanda Sonowal will contest from Majuli which has been in the Congress kitty for the last three terms.

Senior BJP leader JP dda announced the list of 88 candidates in New Delhi after it was filized by the party's central election committee. The BJP had earlier set aside 24 seats for its alliance partner AGP and 12 for the BPF. That still leaves out two seats for which the saffron party is yet to take a decision.

Himanta Biswa Sarma has been nomited from Jalukbari from where he will seek re-election for the fourth consecutive term. Six of the nine Himanta loyalists have also made it to the BJP candidates list, leaving out Jayanta Malla Baruah, Rajen Borthakur and Abu Taher Bepari.

Former student leaders, including Tapan Gogoi, Prahlad Gowala and Manoj Barua, and senior AGP leaders, including two sitting MLAs - ba Doley and Padma Hazarika - who recently joined the BJP were also given tickets.

However, the mes of two sitting BJP legislators - Jadav Deka and Manoranjan Das - did not figure in the list.

Next Story