Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP readies blueprint for key seats

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 July 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, July 12: When BJP president Amit Shah meets senior party leaders in Guwahati on Tuesday, a key agenda on the table will be the making of a blueprint to take on some heavyweight political opponents in their constituencies in the assembly elections next year.

The BJP State unit has prepared a list of at least thirteen assembly constituencies for which a separate strategy will be adopted for the 2016 polls.

Among the constituencies are Titabor (currently held by Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi), Barhampur (Prafulla Kumar Mahanta), Dharmapur (Nilomonisen Deka), Jalukbari (Himanta Biswa Sarma), Margherita (Pradyut Bordoloi), Bihpuria (Bhupen Bora), Sadiya (Bolin Chetia), Barkhetri (Bhumidhar Barman), Samaguri (Rakibul Hussain), Dispur (Akon Bora), Lahorighat (zrul Islam), Khumtai (Bismita Gogoi) and Jorhat (Ra Goswami).

Sources said the State unit has already shortlisted a list of probables in these key constituencies which will be placed before the central committee for its consideration. Along with the mes of the probables, there will be a mention about the merits and demerits, if any, of each of the candidate.

This newspaper assessed the tentative list prepared by the State unit. According to the list, the frontrunners for the BJP ticket in some constituencies are – Hemanta Kalita in Titabor, Jitu Goswami in Barhampur, Chandra Mohan Patowary in Dharmapur, Bhaskar Sarma/ Pabitra Margherita in Margherita, Prafulla Barua/ Amiya Bhuyan in Bihpuria, Saligram Chetri/ Jagadish Bhuyan in Sadiya, yan Talukdar/Pulokesh Barua in Barkhetri, Mominul Aawal in Samaguri, Atul Bora (senior)/ Meera Borthakur in Dispur and Hiten Goswami in Jorhat.

Next Story