Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Citizenship Bill: Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to take notes of all members

Citizenship Bill: Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) to take notes of all members

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 Nov 2018 1:40 AM GMT

New Delhi: Joint Parliamentary Committee (JPC) chairman Rajendra Agrawal on Monday told an AGP delegation that he will take notes from all the 30 members of the JPC before concluding its report over the contentious Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016.

“All the burning issues of Assam will be compiled in the report. We’ll also take views of all members of the JPC over the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill,” said AGP leader Atul Bora quoting Rajendra Agrawal as saying.

A day before the crucial Joint Parliamentary Committee meeting over the proposed Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, a five-member AGP delegation called on JPC chairman Agrawal and reiterated their protest against the controversial Bill.

The delegation, earlier in the day, met JPC member Swapan Dasgupta and raised their concern. The JPC comprises of 30 members. Twenty members are from the Lok Sabha and 10 members are from the Rajya Sabha.

The AGP delegation includes Atul Bora, Keshav Mahanta, Phani Bhushan Chowdhary, Birendra Prasad Baishya and Ramendra Narayan Kalita.

The AGP earlier raised their protest over the Bill.

Ever since the BJP government at the Centre announced to bring the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill, 2016, Assam has been witnessing widespread protests. Several political and non-political organizations are up in arms against the Bill.

Also Read: Top Headlines

Next Story