Divisions of Assam re-organized

Guwahati, Oct 31: Assam Government has reorganised the Divisions of Assam for administrative expediency following a notification to this effect issued today. The North Assam Division will comprise the district of Darrang (Mangaldoi) and Udalguri of Lower Assam Division whereas the gaon district is excluded from North Assam Division with headquarters at Tezpur. The Hills & Barak Valley Division is re-med as "Barak Valley Division". A new division has been formed as the Central Assam Division, with the districts of gaon, Morigaon and two Hill districts of Karbi Anglong & Dima Hasao with headquarters at gaon. The Upper Assam Division, however will remained unchanged.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam