Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Gogoi announces five new districts

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  17 Aug 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, Aug 16: Addressing the central Independence Day celebrations in the State on Saturday, Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi announced creation of five new districts.

The creation of Biswath, Charaideo, Hojai, South Salmara-Mankachar and West Karbi Anglong districts will take the total number of districts in the State to 32.

Gogoi, however, ignored five other districts proposals- Gossaigaon, Bilasipara, Majuli, Bojali and Bokajan. The Chief Minister was also silent on the 55 new sub-division proposals.

People of Biswath - which has been a sub-division since 1983 - erupted in celebrations following the announcement. Feasts, musical events and rallies were organized by various organizations who thanked the Chief Minister for the fulfilling the 26-year-old demand.

Among the other announcements Gogoi made during his Independence Day speech were - creation of new post of District Development Commissioner, creation of Garo Autonomous Council, SC Development Council, Sut, Gariya, Madahi, Hajong, Kumar and Chaudang Development Councils, creation of Assam Skill Development Mission, creation of Assam Medical Services Corporation, creation of Directorate of Drugs & Food Administration, creation of Tea Research Centre for small tea growers, setting up of high level Knowledge Commission and State Education Commission, setting up of Rural Planning and Development Authority to build Smart Villages and launching of new Mission to trim down malnutrition amongst women and children.

Besides, women employees with minor children will be entitled to get Child Care Leave for a period of two years, he said.

Next Story