Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Implement NRC in NE: North East Students’ Organization to Home Minister

Implement NRC in NE: North East Students’ Organization to Home Minister

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  11 Oct 2018 2:26 AM GMT

NEW DELHI, Oct 10: Implementation of National Register of Citizen (NRC) in the entire northeastern States and withdrawal of the Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016 were amongst the eight demands raised by a delegation of North East Students’ Organization (NESO) on Wednesday to Union Home Minister Rajnath Singh.

The delegation also met Minister of State for Home Kiren Rijiju separately in New Delhi and registered their protest against the controversial Citizenship (Amendment) Bill 2016.

“We have mainly highlighted eight burning issues of the Northeast,” said AASU president Dipanka Kumar Nath to The Sentinel and added “We have demanded the Centre to carry out the NRC update exercise in all NE States to solve the problem of illegal influx from Bangladesh.”

They have submitted to the central leadership a memorandum highlighting eight burning issues of this landlocked region.

The delegation led by NESO advisor Samujjal Bhattacharya also demanded the government to take stringent steps to stop illegal influx from across the border.

The 15-member delegation of the eight different students’ organisations of the northeast in its memorandum submitted to the central leadership talked about the pollution issues of river Brahmaputra.

A separate time zone for the NE States and declaring the recurrent floods in the NE region as a national disaster have also been demanded by the student leaders. The student leaders have also included the recent Siang flood problem in its charter of demands.

The student organisations have said that due to the influx of migrants from Bangladesh “indigenous people have become minority in their own land.”

The NESO comprises the All Assam Students’ Union (AASU), Khasi Students’ Union (KSU), Garo Students’ Union (GSU), All Arunachal Pradesh Students’ Union (AAPSU), Naga Students’ Federation (NSF), All Manipur Students’ Union (AMSU), Mizo Zirlai Pawl (MZP), and Tripura Students’ Federation (TSF).

Next Story