Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

It's old war horses for AGP, again

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  11 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, March 10: The Asom Ga Parishad (AGP) on Thursday announced its list of 25 candidates that the regiol party will field in the forthcoming elections to the Assam assembly.

The party might field a couple of more candidates in seats like Hajo, where it will engage in “friendly contest” with its alliance partner BJP.

The State will go to polls in two phases on April 4 and 11.

The AGP’s list includes the mes of two-time former Assam chief minister Prafulla Kumar Mahanta and former education minister Brindaban Goswami.

While 6-time MLA Mahanta will contest from his turf Barhampur, Goswami will contest from his home constituency Tezpur.

Former minister and AGP leader Kamala Kalita will contest from Chayygaon constituency while party president and former Golaghat MLA Atul Bora will contest from Bokakhat constituency.

Another six-time legislator Phani Bhusan Choudhury will seek re-election from Bongaigaon.

“Under the present political circumstances, it is not possible to contest the polls on our own this time. So we have decided to go for an alliance with the BJP to prevent the Congress from coming to power once again,” said AGP president Atul Bora while announcing the list at the party headquarters here.

“The people of Assam have been craving for a change after three terms of misrule under the Congress government. We thought we could become an altertive to the Congress by having an alliance with the BJP. I am sure we are going to win in most of the 24 seats in the forthcoming polls,” said Bora.

The AGP has nomited Prabin Hazarika from Biswath Chariali, a seat which officially the BJP has not set aside for the regiol party. The BJP has also fielded a candidate in the seat.


Repupama Rajkhowa (Teok)

ren Sonowal (horkotia)

Phanibhushan Chowdhury (Bongaigaon)

Binod Goala (Sarupathar)

Pradip Hazarika (Amguri)

Bhupen Roy (South Abhayapuri)

Rabin Banikya (North Abhayapuri)

Gunindra th Das (Barpeta)

Keshab Mahanta (Kaliabor)

Bhabendra th Bharali (Dergaon)

Jyotiprasad Das (Boko)

Pabindra Deka (Patacharkuchi)

Ramendra rayan Kalita (West Guwahati)

Ali Azam Seikh (Bilasipara West)

Utpal Dutta (Lakhimpur)

Satyabrata Kalita (Kamalpur)

Mukundaram Chowdhury (Kalaigaon)

Ziauddin Ahamed (Jamumukh)

Ranjit Deka (Lahorighat)

Prabin Hazarika (Biswath Chariali)

PK Mahanta (Barhampur)

Brindabon Goswami (Tezpur)

Atul Bora (Bokakhat)

Habibur Rehman (Dalgaon)

Kamalakanta Kalita (Chayygaon)

Next Story