Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Jagadish Bhuyan joins BJP with 3 district AGP wings

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Jun 2015 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, June 7: As reported earlier, AGP stalwart and former minister Jagadish Bhuyan joined the BJP at a function in the city today. All AGP wings like Asom Yuba Parishad (AYP), Asom Mahila Parishad (AMP) and Asom Krishan Parishad (AKP) of Sadia, Tinsukia and Digboi also joined the BJP today en masse. This apart, a large number of AGP workers from Dispur, Guwahati East, Guwahati West and Chayygaon Legislative Assembly Constituencies (LACs) also joined the BJP at the same function.

Joining the Saffron party, Bhuyan said: "The BJP has no altertive in Assam politics. I had to quit the AGP a year back just to work for the BJP. I'll work for the BJP with sincerity."

Welcoming Bhuyan and others who joined the BJP today, State BJP president Siddhartha Bhattacharya said: "The importance of the BJP in Assam has increased many fold as it is the only party that can provide safety and security to the people of Assam. Aware of this ground reality, leaders from various parties and organizations are joining the BJP. Many more leaders from other parties and organizations are set to join the party this month."

This is not all. The Saffron party is set to gain more strength in mid-June and June-end. Asom Jatiyatabadi Yuba-Chatra Parishad (AJYCP) president Manoj Baruah and All Assam Tea Tribe Students' Association (AATTSA) leader Teras Goala are set to join the BJP in mid-June. Manoj Baruah is considered a pillar in Assam in so far as regiolism is concerned. The grip of Goala in tea garden areas in the state is also not negligible.

The AGP is set to get yet another bout of shock in June-end when former minister Rehka Rani Das Boro will join the BJP. Former AASU president Sankar Prasad Rai and general secretary Topon Kumar Gogoi are also set to join the BJP in June-end. All of them, according to sources, have decided to join the BJP after having reached understanding with the BJP leadership over constituencies where they like to fight the Assembly elections in 2016 from.

Meanwhile, the AGP today reacted to Bhuyan joining the BJP sharply, and said: "He became an MLA and then a minister on AGP ticket. When the regiol party is not in power he opted to desert it. In fact, he has removed the mask of regiolism he had been wearing all along. In fact, Bhuyan quit the AGP last year, and as such his joining the BJP won't affect the AGP. However, the report that all AGP wings of Sadia, Digboi and Tinsukia joined the BJP es masse is not based on fact. A large number of leaders whom Bhuyan shown as AGP leaders are not our workers."

Next Story