Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Left parties to field 59 candidates in Assam

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 March 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By our Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, March 7: The Left parties – the CPI(M), CPI, CPI(ML), AIFB, RSP and the RCPI – have decided to make their presence largely felt in the Assam Assembly elections by fielding as many as 59 candidates.

Talking to newsmen in the city today, Left leaders Deven Bhattacharya, Drupad Borgohain, Rubul Sarma and Biren Deka said that they have already formed a Left and Democratic Alliance in the State and reached a seat-sharing agreement.

According to the agreement reached, the CPI will field 18 candidates in Lahowal, Moran, Dibrugarh, Thowra, Sivasagar, zira, Titabor, Khumtai, North Lakhimpur, Katigorah, North Kamrimganj, Barhampur, Kaliabor, Morigaon, Guwati East, Dudhnoi, Bilasipara (W) and Kamalpur.

The CPI(M) will filed candidates in 19 LACs – Dhubri, North Abhoyapuri, Bijni, Sorbhog, Jania, Sorukhetri, lbari, Rangiya, Dispur, Rangapara, Sootea, Dhakuakha, Dhemaji, Sadia, horkotia, Jorhat, Silchar, Borkhola and Patharkandi.

The CPI(ML) is set to field candidates in eight LACs – Chabua, Duliajan, Tingkhong, Teok, Mariani, Botodrava, Gohpur and Behali.

AIFB is going to field candidates in ten LACs – Hailakandi, Soi, Amguri, Guwahati West, Barpeta, Golaghat, Chhaygaon, Jagiroad, Tezpur and Borkhetri.

While RSP is going to field candidates in Joi and Gauripur, the RCPI is going to field candidates in Dhing and Mahmora.

The Left leaders said the Congress claimed to have caused development in the past 15 years. “However, there have been development of corruption only. Riding on the corruption of the Congress, the BJP has opted a path sans principles and reasons. Such a situation calls for an altertive in the form of the Left parties in Assam,” they said. They said that central leaders of the party like Brinda Karat, Tripura Chief Minister Manik Sarkar and others would campaign for the Left candidates in Assam.

Next Story