Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Major reshuffle in police, bureaucracy

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  30 Jan 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, Jan 29: Assam government today effected a major reshuffle in the police and government machinery, ahead of the upcoming assembly elections. IPS officer Surendra Kumar had been posted as DIG (CID), while Akhilesh Kumar Singh will replace him as DIG (Western Range). DIG (Eastern Range) Satyen Gogoi has been shifted to Central Range. Bishnu Prasad Rabha has been appointed as DIG (Eastern Range). Abhijit Bora will be the new DIG (BIEO).

At the Guwahati commissionerate, SP (SB) Louis Aind has been posted as DCP (crime) in Guwahati. He will replace Swapneel Deka who has been posted as Dhemaji SP. Chirang SP Ranjan Bhuyan will be the new DCP (Central), replacing Amitava Sinha who has been shifted to the Special Branch. DCP (security & intelligence) Diganta Choudhury also has been shifted to Special Branch. He will be replaced by MI Mandal.

2011-batch IPS officer Shankar Brata Rai Medhi has been posted as the new SP of Chirang.

gaon SP Arabinda Kalita has been transferred to the Railways. Dilip Dey will replace him at gaon.

NV Chandrakanta has been posted as the new SP of Sadiya, while Hementa Bhattacharjee has been posted as SP (Vigilance & Anti-corruption). Prasanta Sagar Changmai has been posted as SP (BIEO).

At the secretariat, Principal Secretary Hemanta rzary has been given charge of Water Resources and Public Health Engineering departments. ASDMA CEO Pramod Kumar Tiwari has been transferred and posted as Commissioner & Secretary (Implementation of Assam Accord department).

IAS officer Shyam Jaganthan, who returned from deputation, has been posted as North Assam commissioner. Manish Thakur has been transferred and substantively posted as Commissioner & Secretary (Soil Conservation department).

Sankar Prasad ndy has been transferred and posted as Commissioner & Secretary (Cooperation and Fishery departments).

Dilip Borthakur has been posted as Commissioner & Secretary in the Animal Husbandry & Veteriry departments.

Commissioner & Secretary Dipak Kumar Sarma has been also given charge of CEO, ASDMA in addition to his substantive post.

Next Story