Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Ministers to mutate into ‘district guardians’

Ministers to mutate into ‘district guardians’

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  8 Jun 2018 11:30 PM GMT

GUWAHATI, June 9: Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal has chalked out a list of 17 ministers to monitor a range of issues pertaining to the smooth administration of seven key areas. The ministers have been made ministers-in-charge of the districts in the State. The prime function is that these ministers will have to brief the Chief Minister from time to time on the overall scenario and the important issues pertaining to the districts concerned.

The ministers in-charge will be responsible for several interconnected issues of importance. Each of them will act as the “guardian minister of the district” allocated. Besides monitoring the implementation of various development schemes, he/she will have to also supervise the relief and rehabilitation work whenever called for.

Moreover, each of them will be responsible for the resolution of issues pending in the district or at the State Secretariat.

They will have to visit the districts allocated at least once in a quarter for interacting with the masses. Each of them will have to carry out field inspection of development schemes in the respective districts undertaken from time to time.

Besides the mentioned areas of interest, they will have to also shoulder “additional duties assigned by the government”.

The ministers and the districts allocated are: Himanta Biswa Sarma (Kamrup-M), Atul Bora (Dibrugarh, Charaideo), Chandra Mohan Patowary (Barpeta), Pramila Rani Brahma (Nalbari), Keshab Mahanta (Majuli, Golaghat), Siddartha Bhattacharya (Cachar, Darrang), Rihon Daimari (Biswanath), Chandan Brahma (Sonitpur), Ranjit Duta (Nagaon, Hojai), Phani Bhushan Choudhury (Dhubri, Goalpara), Parimal Suklabaidya (Karimganj, Hailakandi), Naba Kumar Doley (Dhemaji, Tinsukia), Pallab Lochan Das (Lakhimpur, Jorhat), Sum Ronghang (Morigaon), Bhabesh Kalita (Bongaigaon, South Salmara-Mankachar), Topon Kumar Gogoi (Sivasagar), and Pijush Hazarika (Kamrup-R).

Next Story