Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Polling stations up in Assam by 608

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 Jan 2016 12:00 AM GMT

Highest increase in Cachar, gaon, Goalpara and Dhubri districts with rise in voter numbers

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, Jan 20: The number of polling stations in the State has gone up by 608.

In the last Lok Sabha elections, there were 24,280 polling stations. In the upcoming assembly election, the Election Commission will set up 24,888 polling stations across the State.

In the previous assembly elections in 2011, there were 23,853 polling stations.

According to Election Commission of India guidelines, there has to be one polling station per 1,400 voters in urban area and 1,200 voters in rural area. "The number of polling stations has been increased to enhance accessibility and avoid crowding," officials said. Cachar district has registered the highest increase in the number of polling stations at 93, followed by gaon (83), Goalpara (46) and Dhubri (41).

In terms of constituency, Rupahihat in gaon has recorded an increase of 25 polling stations followed by Soi in Cachar at 23.

The total number of voters in this assembly elections has increase by 16,78,227 over the last elections in 2011. The total number of eligible voters, according to the fil electoral roll released recently, is 1,98,66,496.

The 2011 assembly elections had registered a turn-out of 75.92 per cent.

Next Story