Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Protection and Preservation of  Xatra Lands: Government to amend existing Acts, bring in specific clause

Protection and Preservation of  Xatra Lands: Government to amend existing Acts, bring in specific clause

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  12 Oct 2018 2:32 AM GMT

GUWAHATI, Oct 11: The State government is planning to bring in a specific clause to shield the xatra lands across Assam simultaneously with its ongoing move to draft a new land policy. It would be for the first time that such a step would be taken to protect and preserve the xatra lands. This decision would also go a long way in identifying the xatra lands and freeing them from encroachments.

However, it can be possible only by bringing about requisite amendments to the existing land Acts particularly the more-than-century-old ‘Assam Land and revenue Regulation 1886’ which is deemed the parent law. It has been in existence since the British raj.

Chief Minister Sarbananda Sonowal recently held a meeting with the officials of the State revenue and disaster management department in this regard. The officials were directed to carry on in-depth study of the various land revenue Acts and explore the possibilities of amending them to ensure that xatra lands are protected.

Interestingly, none of the prevalent land related legislations mention specifically about protection and preservation of ‘xatra lands’. Even though the Ancient Monuments and Records Act, 1959 stipulates preservation and protection of infrastructures of xatras, the legislation does not have any specific clause to preserve the lands of xatras.

Official report states that lands of the following seven Xatras have been encroached upon: Shyamrai Bigroh Xatra in Barpeta district (121 bigha 15 lecha under illegal occupation); Sri Thakur Ata Xatra in Bongaigaon district (20 bigha); Sri Sri Auniati Xatra (Kaliapani branch) in Jorhat district (3 bigha 2 katha 10 lecha); Sri Sri Dakhinpat Xatra (Satai branch) of Jorhat district (15 bigha); Gormur Xatra (branch) in Jorhat district (1 bigha 16 lecha); Sri Sri Narasingha Xatra in Nagaon district (16 bigha 4 katha 17 lecha) and Ramrai Kuti Xatra of Dhubri

(2 katha 7 lecha).

Next Story