Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Purge in BPF on poll eve, eleven leaders sacked

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 March 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Party implodes over tickets, exodus to BJP begins


KOKRAJHAR, March 12: Riddled with interl squabbling ahead of the Bodoland Territorial Council elections, the ruling Bodoland People’s Front (BPF) today expelled eleven senior leaders, including former Lok Sabha MP Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary, former MLA Parmeswar Brahma and a member of the policy making body, charging them with anti-party activities.

BPF chief Hagrama Mohilary also announced mes of eight candidates for the elections.

At a press conference, Mohilary said the decision to expel the eleven leaders from the BPF was taken after a thread-bare discussion with senior party functiories at the party’s central office in Kokrajhar.

Other who were expelled from the party include BTC executive members (EM) Mono Kr Brahma, Member of Council of Legislative Assembly (MCLA) Kartik Chandra Boro, former EM Singhoram Boro, MCLA Ranjit Kherkhatary, former EM Moheswar Basumatary, former MLA Parmeswar Brahma, former president of BPF’s women wing Maloti Rani rzary, president of Salbari district BPF Ramani Daimary, member Raj Kumar Brahma and organizing secretary of Kokrajhar district committee Bibhuti Borgoyary.

Of the expelled BPF leaders, Mono Kr. Brahma, Maloti Rani rzary, Kartik Chandra Boro, Parmeswar Brahma and Ranjit Kherkhatary have already joined the BJP while some others are also likely to follow suit.

Many lower rank leaders working in district and block units of BPF have also deserted the party.

The implosion in the BPF was triggered by disgruntlement over the issue of allotment of party tickets for the ensuing council elections.

Mohilary said the eleven members were expelled due to their anti-party activities.

“Any member who is found to be working against the interests of the party will be expelled for the sake of party discipline,” he said, adding that district and block level BPF leaders have been instructed to submit reports within three days on whether there were more members indulging in anti-party activities.

Former MP Sansuma Khunggur Bwiswmuthiary and former MLA Parmeswar Brahma had stayed away from the party for quite some time before being filly sacked today.

The mes of the eight candidates declared by BPF today are - Sahen Brahma (Porbotjhora, ST), Nerswn Boro (Bhergaon, ST), Rabin Bala Biswas (grijuli), Suniram Basumatary (Chirang, ST), Rajiv Brahma (Bargaon, ST), Rahindra Brahma (Guma), Suresh Tanti (oni Serfang) and Mritunjay Brahma (Soraibil, ST). Mohilary said the mes of candidates for the remaining three constituencies - Dotma, Dihira and Baganpara - will be announced after three days.

Next Story