Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana: Assam MPs Cut a Sorry Figure

Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana: Assam MPs Cut a Sorry Figure

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 Aug 2018 6:08 AM GMT

Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana

Staff Reporter

GUWAHATI, Aug 19: Will Assam at all get rid of its below-par performance on any front? This time around the members of parliament (MPs) from the State has cut a sorry figure in the implementation of the Saansad Adarsh Gram Yojana (SAGY), coming poor sixth amongst the eight north-eastern States, let alone in the ranking at the national level.

At the national level, MPs have identified 1,402-gram panchayats under the SAGY till July 2018. So far 58,619 projects have been undertaken with 27,549 of them completed till July 2018. The success rate of the project stands at 47 percent at the national level.

However, the 21 MPs (14 Lok Sabha and 7 Rajya Sabha) of Assam have performed below par in the implementation of this project. Against the 47 percent success rate at the national level, the success rate of Assam MPs in this project stands at 21 percent, which is poor sixth amongst the eight north-eastern States. The other States of the Northeast, barring Manipur (15 percent) and Arunachal Pradesh (12.9 percent), performed better than Assam.

Under SAGY, the 21 MPs of Assam have so far adopted 35 gaon panchayats involving 2,418 projects. However, according to the Panchayat and Rural Development Department of the State, only 508 of the 2,418 projects have been completed so far in Assam.

The break-up of the 21 MPs in Assam is – seven BJP MPs, three each of the Congress and the AIUDF and one independent in the Lok Sabha; and six Congress and one of the BPF in the Rajya Sabha.

The SAGY is a rural development programme broadly focusing upon the development in villages, including social development, cultural development and motivation among the people on the social mobilization of the village community. The programme was launched by the Prime Minister on October 11, 2014. Under this scheme, each of the MPs of the country adopts villages and then gaon panchayats for ensuring their all-round development.

Next Story