Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

State tax on petrol is Rs 14 per litre now

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  9 July 2016 12:00 AM GMT

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, July 8: The State government's tax on petrol is Rs 14 a litre now.

After the recent decision of the State cabinet to hike the tax rates, the price of petrol in the State increased from Rs 63.84 to Rs 64.57. At the earlier price, the State tax was Rs 13.27, while at the current rate, the State government gets Rs 14 per litre.

Similarly, the diesel prices shot up from Rs 55.34 to Rs 56.96 after the State government's notification. Earlier, the State tax on each litre of diesel was Rs 7.62, while after the notification, the State will get Rs 9.24 per litre.

With the rise in fuel cost, prices of commodities are also likely to go up due to increased transportation cost - which is contrary to the government's claim that the burden of the tax hike would not be passed on to the consumers.

Next Story