Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

State to celebrate R–Day amid tight security

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  26 Jan 2015 12:00 AM GMT


GUWAHATI, January 25: Security has been beefed up across the state, including capital city Guwahati, on the eve of Republic Day with several militant outfits calling a boycott of the celebrations tomorrow.

The Union Ministry of Home Affairs has sent an advisory to all the Northeastern states including Assam, specifying the preventive measures to be adopted.

The Border Security Force (BSF), the Central Reserve Police Force (CRPF) and other Central paramilitary personnel accompanied by bomb disposal and dog squads have been deployed in airports, hotels, bus and railway termils, markets, congested locations and tiol highways in the state.

Several militant groups, including the United Liberation Front of Asom – Independent ULFA (I), have called for a 24–hour general strike from January 25 midnight and for boycotting the Republic Day celebrations.

In Guwahati, all security arrangements have been put in place in view of the Republic Day celebrations. The Veteriry College playground at Khapara, where Chief Minister Tarun Gogoi will hoist the tiol flag, has been turned into a fortress.

CCTV cameras have been installed at all entry and exit points of the Veteriry College playground. Military, Assam police, home guards and fire fighting personnel have been deployed in and around the Veteriry College playground for the security of VIPs, VVIPs and the public. Sniffer dogs have also been pressed into service.

Vehicle parking arrangements have been made 500 metres away from the Veteriry College playground for additiol security.

The Northeast Frontier Railway has also taken up security measures to ensure safe running of trains in Assam.

An official of the Airports Authority of India (AAI) said that entry of people, except passengers, into airport areas across the Northeast has been barred and the restrictions will continue till January 27.

Ministers Bhumidhar Barman will hoist the tiol flag in lbari, Sukur Ali in Barpeta, Rockybul Hussain in gaon, Ajanta Neog in Golaghat, Bismita Gogoi in Jorhat, Sarat Borkotoky in Sivasagar, Etowa Munda in Dibrugarh and Basanta Das in Darrang on Republic Day.

Next Story