Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Three HPCs Record Higher Voters’ Turnout Than 2014 Polls

Three HPCs Record Higher Voters’ Turnout Than 2014 Polls

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  21 April 2019 5:24 AM GMT

GUWAHATI: The turnout of electorates during the recently concluded two phases of polls in Assam show several interesting trends. Three Parliamentary constituencies (HPCs) this time indicate higher than the overall voters’ turnout (80.21%) as recorded during the last (2014) general elections. These three HPC seats are Mangaldoi (83.60%), Nowgong (83.24%)—both went to polls in the second phase; and Kaliabor (82.09%) – went to the polls in the first phase. The overall percentage of voters’ turnout during the first-phase general elections in Assam was 78.27% while that in the second phase was 81.20%.

During this year’s elections, several Legislative Assembly Constituencies (LACs) in upper Assam recorded lower than the average turnout of electorates with the lowest (70.16%) registered in Dhemaji (ST) Assembly segment under Lakhimpur Parliamentary constituency while Majuli LAC under the same HPC registered 71.96%. Jorhat LAC segment under Jorhat HPC registered 72.34% voters’ turnout while Teok LAC also under Jorhat HPC registered 73.12%. On the other hand, three minority-dominated LACs registered more than 90% voters’ turnout. These are Dalgaon (90.85%) under Mangaldoi HPC; and two LAC segments under Kaliabor HPC, namely Rupahihat (90.57%) and Dhing (91.52%).

Besides the Kaliabor Parliamentary seat, the other four HPC seats that went to the first phase (April 11) along with the percentage of voters’ turnout are: Jorhat (77.49%), Dibrugarh (77.26%), Lakhimpur (75.05%), and Tezpur (79.41%). On the other hand besides Mangaldoi and Nowgong, the other three HPCs that went to the second phase (April 18) polls along with the voters’ turnout percentage are: Silchar (79.40%), Autonomous District-Diphu (77.47%), and Karimganj (79.08%).

Again, significantly among the five LAC segments under the Autonomous District-Diphu HPC seat, the lowest turnout was recorded in the Diphu-ST LAC (74.77%), followed by the Haflong-ST (77.71%), Baithalangso-ST (77.89%), Howraghat-ST (78.46%), and Bokajan-ST (79.37%).

Also Read: Top Headlines

Next Story