Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

To win 2016, Congress banks on others losing

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  1 Oct 2015 12:00 AM GMT

Battling anti-incumbency and attrition losses, Congress strategists pinning hopes on AGP-BJP vote split in at least 30 seats

By Our Staff Reporter

Guwahati, Sept 30: Faced with the double trouble of anti-incumbency and attrition, the Congress has now changed it game-plan for the 2016 assembly elections – do not fight to win, fight to ensure others are defeated.

This strategy comes in the aftermath of an interl survey conducted by the party in the Brahmaputra Valley constituencies – excluding Karbi Anglong – in which it observed that unless the anti-Congress votes splits, it will be difficult for the party to win in at least thirty seats.

Alyzing the voting pattern in these constituencies, the Congress has come to the conclusion that in order to ensure the party romps home, it has to ensure that the BJP-AGP votes do not “unite”.

“For example, the alysis suggests that in nine constituencies held by the AGP, if the BJP puts ups a formidable candidate, it will be easy for the Congress to emerge victorious. While the BJP candidate cannot win in these constituencies, they will only ensure that the sitting AGP MLA is defeated,” said a source who is privy to the survey.

In at least 23 other seats, fielding of candidates by both the BJP and AGP will only ensure a Congress victory.

For instance, if the AGP fields its old warhorse Brindabon Goswami in Tezpur, a candidate from the BJP will make it a cakewalk for the Congress. Similar will be the case in Amguri where AGP’s Pradeep Hazarika is laying the ground since his defeat in the last elections. AGP’s Sushila Hazarika in Dergaon may also meet with the same fate.

In Jorhat, former AGP minister Hiten Goswami has emerged as a strong contender for the BJP ticket. However, if the AGP fields its veteran Niren Sharma – as is being rumoured- it will only make it a walk in the park for sitting Congress MLA Ra Goswami.

The other seats where the Congress has chances only in case of a split in the votes are lbari, Bihpuria, Dhemaji, Gohpur, Tingkhong, Sivasagar, Chabua, Teok, Golaghat, Khumtai, Sarupathar, gaon, Raha, Jagiroad, Dudhnoi, Palasbari and Hajo.

Next Story