Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Assam Government to constitute Quick Response Teams for disaster management

Assam is planning to constitute QRTs (Quick Response Teams) for tackling on real time various types of disasters.

disaster management

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 July 2021 2:03 AM GMT


GUWAHATI: Assam is planning to constitute QRTs (Quick Response Teams) for tackling on real time various types of disasters. As a pilot project, such QRTs will be formed in the 11 most vulnerable flood-prone Circles. The 11 RCs have been identified following analyses of the disaster data of the last 10 years.

The ASDMA-identified most-vulnerable 11 flood-prone RCs (Revenue Circles) along with the districts of the State are Kalgachia and Baghbar in Barpeta District; Chabua and Moran in Dibrugarh; Bihpuria and Narayanpur in Lakhimpur; Halem in Biswanath District; Bokakhat in Golaghat; Demow in Sibsagar; Tezpur in Sonitpur; and Majuli RC in Majuli district.

Specific guidelines have been issued to the DCs (Deputy Commissioners) of the 11 targeted districts to constitute these QRTs. The DC is also the Chairman of the DDMA (District Disaster Management Authority).

Each QRT team will comprise eight members (males and females) from the local populace. The ASDMA will provide training on rescue operations to the recruited personnel. Performance-based incentives will be provided to the QRT members.

Much before the arrival of the NDRF and SDRF teams in the disaster-hit areas, these 'Quick Response Teams' of the ASDMA will be the first and immediate source for rescue and rehabilitation in those locales.

If the move becomes successful in the 11 districts then such QRTs will be formed in the remaining districts of the State.

The ASDMA was notified in 2007 with the adoption of the 'Disaster Management Act' in 2006. The Chief Minister of Assam is its Chairperson and the Minister of Revenue & Disaster Management is its Vice Chairperson. To execute the mandate of the Authority, the State Executive Committee with the Chief Secretary, Assam as its Chairperson has also been notified as per provision of the Disaster Management Act. The ASDMA Secretariat with officers, consultants and employees, for carrying out the functions of the State Authority, became fully functional in 2010. ASDMA has also notified the DDMA (District Disaster Management Authority) in all the districts of Assam and placed officers for carrying out disaster-management activities at the district level.

The NDRF was constituted under Section 44 of the 'Disaster Management Act-2005' for a specialized response to natural and man-made disasters.

Also Read: Chirang district administration reviews flood preparedness in district

Also watch:

Next Story