Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

CM Himanta Biswa Sarma names civilian award recipients

The Assam Government has named the recipients of three civilian awards of the state – Assam Vaibhab, Assam Saurav and Assam Gaurav.


Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  5 Dec 2021 2:43 AM GMT


GUWAHATI: The Assam Government has named the recipients of three civilian awards of the state – Assam Vaibhab, Assam Saurav and Assam Gaurav. The government will present the awards to 19 personalities on January 24, 2022.

The awardees comprise from Ratan Tata to Asha workers. Naming the awardees today, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said, "The government doesn't give these awards for individual achievements. These wards are for people whose contributions bring about positive changes in the life of others. We have chosen Ratan Tata for the Assam Vaibhab Award as his contribution through Tata Trust in setting up 16 cancer hospitals in the state is immense. We have named ANM Namita Kalita for the Assam Gaurav Award as she has vaccinated one lakh people defying all odds. We have named Lovlina Borgohain for Assam Saurav as she brought an Olympic medal to the country. We have picked up ASHA worker Banita Momin for Assam Gaurav. She ensured 100 per cent vaccination in a Garo village where the villagers were up in arms against her when she had gone for vaccination there earlier. Her tenacity enabled her to motivate the villagers to take Covid-19 vaccines.

"The Assam Vaibhab Award carries Rs 5 lakh as a token amount, besides the government bearing the lifetime health expenditure of the recipient. The Assam Saurav Award carries Rs 4 lakh., besides the medical cost of the recipient up to Rs 3 lakh annually. The Assam Gaurav Award carries Rs 3 lakh and health expenditure up to Rs 3 lakh annually.

"From next year, the public will nominate the names for the awards, and the government will select the best from them. The government will launch a portal for that purpose.

"The 19 recipients of the three awards are – Assam Vaibhab — Ratan Tata; Assam Saurav – Prof. Kamalendu Dev Krori, Dr Laxmanan S, Dipak Chand Jain, Lovlina Borgohain and Artiste Nilapaban Baruah; Assam Gaurav— Munindra Nath Ngatey, Dr Basanta Hazarika, Akash Jyoti Gogoi, Manoj Kumar Basumatary, Khorsing Teron, Boby Hazarika, Hemaprabha Chutia, Namita Kalita, Banita Momin, Dharanidhar Boro, Kaushik Boro, Kalpana Boro and Dr Asif Iqbal."

Also read: Youths must take up agriculture instead of running after government jobs: CM Himanta

Also watch:

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News