Guwahati Municipal Corporation poll: Clean sweep by BJP-AGP

The BJP-AGP alliance clean swept the GMC poll by clinching 58 wards in the 60-ward House.
Guwahati Municipal Corporation poll: Clean sweep by BJP-AGP

 All sections voted for ruling alliance: CM


GUWAHATI: The BJP-AGP alliance clean swept the GMC (Guwahati Municipal Corporation) poll by clinching 58 wards in the 60-ward House. Main opposition Congress drew blank in this civic body poll.

The State Election Commission (SEC) declared the results of the GMC election today. SEC conducted the poll on April 22, 2022. According to the results, the BJP fielded 53 candidates, and 52 came out winners – three won unopposed. The AGP fielded seven candidates, and six of them won.

The AAP fielded candidates in 38 wards and won one. The AJP, on the other hand, fielded 25 candidates and won one. The Congress contested in 54 wards but failed to open its account. The CPI-M fielded four candidates and drew blank.

Significantly, none of the 19 independent candidates who fought the election won.

According to the results of the 57 wards, the BJP got 2,37,742 votes; the AGP got 28,092 votes; the Congress got 54,980 votes; AJP got 15,443; AAP got 42,866 votes; CPI-M got 2,447 votes; others, including independents, got 11,139 votes, and 8,097 voters punched the NOTA (None of the above) option.

The voters' turnout in the GMC poll was 52.80 per cent.

The AAP made remarkable progress and came second in 25 wards.

The BJP headquarters in the state (Atal Bihari Vajpayee Bhawan) was agog with celebrations.

Talking to the media, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said, "The indigenous Muslims of Guwahati voted for the BJP in this poll. In my 20-year-long career as an MLA, no political party got such a huge number of seats in any GMC poll. All people, irrespective of caste and creed, voted for the BJP. This mandate has given us more responsibility. We will try out best to play our part with honesty. The BJP's massive win reflects Prime Minister Narendra Modi's profound love for the Northeast. I thank the Prime Minister, Home Minister Amit Shah and BJP president JP Nadda."

On the dismal performance of the Congress, the Chief Minister said, "The Congress had a specific vote bank in the Corporation. Two other parties – AJP and AAP – came to grab the Congress' vote bank. Let's wait and watch."

The counting of votes took place under tight security at Maniram Dewan Trade Centre.


BJP ............ 52

AGP ............ 6

AAP ............ 1

AJP ............ 1

Cong ............ 0

CPI-IM ............ 0

Also Watch:

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam