Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council Poll: Clean sweep for BJP

The ruling BJP clean swept the KAAC (Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council) poll by winning all the 26 seats.

Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council Poll

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 Jun 2022 2:42 AM GMT


GUWAHATI/BOKAJAN: The ruling BJP clean swept the KAAC (Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council) poll by winning all the 26 seats. The Congress that ruled the council from 2001 to 2015 could not win a single.

Counting started at Diphu, Hamren and Bokajan from 8 am today.

KAAC CEM (Chief Executive Member) Tuliram Ronghang is set to be the CEM again. Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma said during the poll campaign that Ronghang would be the KAAC CEM again.

The BJP camp in the hill district was jubilant soon after the counting trend showed the party on a winning note. After the win, Tuliram Ronghang addressed a victory rally at Hamren. Talking to the media, Ronghang said, "I thank the people of Karbi Anglong for the trust reposed on the BJP. The people of Karbi Anglong are simple and easy-going. They cannot tolerate falsehood. We are trying to do all that we say. The people of this hill district have seen developmental works in the past five years. We are going ahead by taking the Karbis and other people of the district together. With the blessings of Prime Minister Narendra Modi, Union Home Minister Amit Shah and Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma, Karbi Anglong will continue to prosper." The KAAC poll held on June 8 did register a voter turnout of 77.96 per cent.

Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma campaigned in a big way in the run-up to the KAAC poll.

Meanwhile, Chief Minister Himanta Biswa Sarma twitted, "We bow before people of Karbi Anglong for giving BJP Assam Pradesh a historic mandate in KAAC polls, 2nd time in a row. After wins in urban body & GMC polls, this huge victory is a true affirmation of public trust in Adarniya PM Shri Narendra Modi Ji's vision of Sabka Saath Sabka Vishwas. This unprecedented mandate has given us an even bigger responsibility to live up to people's expectations. Under the guidance of Adarniya PM, Adarniya HM Shri Amit Shah Ji & Adarniya Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) Adhyaksh Shri J.P.Nadda Ji, we'll work for the overall growth & development of Karbi Anglong".

Some of the winners are:

Sochen Dhenta: Kache Rongpi (BJP); Duarbagori: Richard Tokbi (BJP); Dilip: Pobitro Rongpi (BJP); Deopani: Shrobon Telenga (BJP); Sarupathar: Kadom Terangpi (BJP); Bokajan: Madhurjya Dhekial Phukan (BJP); Borjan: Surjya Rongphar (BJP); Singhason: Amarsing Tisso (BJP); Langpher: Madhuram Lekthe (BJP); Howraghat: Ajit Dey (BJP); Phuloni: Kangbura Killing (BJP); Mahamai: Lunsing Teron (BJP); Korkanthi: Raju Tisso (BJP); No-mati: Ritesh Enghi (BJP); Chinthong: Avijit Kro (BJP); Amri: D Uphing Maslai (BJP); Socheng: Headsing Rongphar (BJP); Rongkhang: Longbison Bey (BJP); Bithung Rengthema: Tuliram Ronghang (BJP); Duar Amla: Prabhat Ch Taro (BJP); Kapili: Pawan Kumar (BJP); Hamren: Mangalsingh Timung (BJP); Amreng: Rina Terangpi (BJP); Limbajong: Jonney Timung (BJP); Dhansiri: Tilottoma Tisso (BJP) and Langhin: Bili Mohan Khakhlari (BJP).

Also Read: BJP names candidates for Karbi Anglong Autonomous Council poll

Also Watch:

Next Story