The Sentinel

Last 10 Winners Of FIFA World Cup

Dec 2, 2022
Here is the complete list of previous 10 winners in FIFA World Cup
Italy (1982)
Italy emerged as the world champions for the third time in the tournament hosted by Spain with a 3-1 victory over West Germany. The tournament marked the first use of a penalty shoot-out.
Argentina (1986)
Argentina’s Diego Maradona dominated the tournament and secured a second trophy for his team. Notably, the quarter-final featured the much famed 'Hand of God' goal by Maradona.
Germany (1990)
West Germany won for the 3rd time as they beat Argentina 1-0 in the tournament hosted by Italy.
Brazil (1994)
After a lacklustre game, it became the World Cup final's first penalty kick contest, with Brazil claiming their fourth trophy.
France (1998)
It was the first World Cup tournament with 32 teams competing. The host nation, led by Didier Deschamps, won 3-0 over Brazil in the final.
Brazil (2002)
The first World Cup co-hosted by two nations (Korea & Japan) and the first to be held in the Asian continent. Ronaldo could finally crown his career as Brazil took its fifth World Cup home.
Italy (2006)
Italy beat France 5-3 on penalties in the tournament final in Berlin after 1-1 in ordinary time. Match is popularly known as Zinedine Zidane’s head-butt on Marco Materazzi.
Spain (2010)
Spain claimed their first World Cup trophy in the tournament hosted in Africa for the first time. The Spanish team beat Netherlands 1-0.
Germany (2014)
Germany won their fourth title after beating Argentina 1-0 in the finals.
France (2018)
France won their 2nd title, beating Croatia 4-2 in the final, making coach Didier Deschamps the 2nd man to win the World Cup as both captain and manager.