Barchalla Constituency- Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Manifesto, Last Election Results

Check Barchalla Constituency - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.
Barchalla Constituency- Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Manifesto, Last Election Results

Borchala is a rural area under the Sonitpur district of Assam. Its constituency name is 'Barchalla.' For communication, Borchala people use Assamese, Bodo, Bengali, and it is also regarded as official languages of the same. Barchalla is among the 126 Assembly constituencies of the Assembly Assam and it also forms a part of the Tezpur Lok SabhaParliamentary Constituency.

Borchala Assembly Constituency : Name & No

The assembly constituency name of Borchala is Barchalla. Its constituency number is 72 and it forms a part of Tezpur Lok Sabha Constituency.

Parliamentary Constituency:

Barchalla Assembly Constituency is a part of the Tezpur Lok Sabha Constituency. Barchalla Assembly Constituency is a General category assembly seat. There are no reservations for the minority groups or reserved categories.


Barchalla/Borchalafalls under the Sonitpur district of Assam. Sonitpur is an authoritative district. The district headquarter is in Tezpur. As per the Census of 2011, the district covers a geographical area of 308.12 hectares.In Sonitpur district, there are 7 Revenue Tehsils/Circles and 14 Community Development Blocks. Sonitpur Region is usually the third most populous region of Assam after Dhubri and Nagaon with inhabitants of around 1,924,110 people. The demographical history ofSonitpur region is not consistent and uniform since many different ethnic, religious and linguistics community resides in Sonitpur.

No. of Towns:

The nearest town/city to Borchala is Dhekiajuli, and the distance between these places is about 7KM. Besides this, there is some town/city which is nearest to Borchala that is Tezpur, Nagaon, and Morigaon with a distance/length of 35KM, 42KM and 50KM respectively.

Assembly Status:

The Legislative Assembly Election of Barchalla Constituency had 144222 electors. Amongst them, the overall valid voters were 119804. In the AssemblyElection of Assam 2016, BJP candidate Ganesh Kumar Limbu won the MLA seat, with 53912 votes and became MLA, whereas INC candidate Tanka Bahadur Rai was the runner-up with 30230 votes.

Water Connection:

Borchala Block comes under Sonitpur region and its Municipality Council provides enough basic/ primary facilities and provisions to its administration and supplies amenities like proper water and sewerage system for every household.

Municipality Reach:

Borchala Block comes under the Municipality Council/Board of Sonitpur Region.

Top 3 Cities Under Constitution:

There are no cities in this constituency.

Male/Female Electoral Distribution:

According to Election Commission of India, Barchalla has 128427 registered voters. It comprises 66758 males and 61669 females. 

Sex Ratio:

According to the Census of 2011, the sex ratio of Borchala is 916 females per 1000 male.

Last Three Years Polling Percentage: 

  1. Barchalla Assembly Constituency witnessed a polling percentage of 56.39% during the Lok Sabha elections, 2019.
  2. During the Assembly Election of Assam 2016, it witnessed about 45.0%
  3. Polling percentage was 45.44% during the Lok Sabha Election, 2014.

Result of Last Five Elections:

In the year 1996 Assembly Election of Assam, a candidate Prafulla Goswami of AGP had won the Assembly seat with 27058 votes. In prior to 2001, 2006, and 2011 Assembly Election of Assam, a candidate Tanka Bahadur Rai of INC won thrice the MLA election with 26567, 34461, and 47270 votes, respectively. And in prior to previous/last year Assembly Election, a candidate of BJP named, Ganesh Kumar Limbu won the MLA election against Tanka Bahadur Rai with 53912 votes. Now Ganesh Kumar Limbu is the current MLA of Barchalla Constituency.

Poll Percentage or Votes


Prafulla Goswami (AGP)

39.31% (27,058 votes)


Tanka Bahadur Rai (INC)

35.79% (26,567 votes)


Tanka Bahadur Rai (INC)

34461 votes


Tanka Bahadur Rai (INC)

48.19% (47,270 votes)


Ganesh Kumar Limbu (BJP)

45% (53,912 votes)

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam