Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Raha Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Raha Constituency - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.

Raha Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Sentinel Digital Desk

Raha is a small town/village in the Nagaon district, Assam. The official languages of Raha are Bodo, Assamese, Bengali. The small town is surrounded by two mighty rivers Kolong and Kopili.

Assembly Constituency Name & No. :

The Assembly of Assam comprises 126 Members of Legislative Assembly which are directly elected from single-seat constituencies and its term is 5 years unless later dissolved. Its headquarter is stationed in Dispur. Raha is the 126 assembly constituencies of Assam. Its constituency no. is 82 and it forms a part/structure of Nowgong Lok Sabha/Parliamentary Constituency.

Parliamentary Constituency :

The Parliamentary Constituencies in India is 542 and among them, the seats for the general category are 441 and for SC and ST the seats are 84 and 47 respectively. Raha Assembly Constituency is a part/structure of the Nowgong Lok Sabha/Parliamentary Constitution. Raha is the 9 assembly segments of Nowgong Parliament Seat. It is reserved for SC candidates.

District :

Raha is a small town/village in Nagaon region, Assam, India. Nagaon district is an authoritative district. Its headquarter is at Nagaon. To the North region of Nagaon, the mighty/tremendous Brahmaputra and Sonitpur district are located while towards South there is Karbi Anglong region and the beautiful hills of North Cachar and towards the East there are Golaghat and East Karbi Anglong.

No. Of Towns :

There are no towns in the Raha Constituency.

No. Of. Inhabited Villages :

Raha, a village/town in the Morigaon region has hold over 127 number of the villages.

Assembly Status :

The Assembly election of Raha constituency had 189298 electors. Amongst them, the overall valid votes was 161627 . In the 2016 Assembly Election, BJP candidate Dimbeswar Das won the MLA seat, with 76941 votes and became MLA, whereas INC candidate Sashi Kanta Das was the runner- up with 43867 votes. Therefore he lost the MLA seat by 33074 votes.

Total Population :

Raha, a town and a Development Block in the Nagaon, region forms a part/structure of the Nowgong Lok Sabha/Parliamentary constituency. As per the recent Census Record of 2011, Raha Circle has an inhabitants of around 1175,125 peoples.

No. Of Households :

Raha, a village /town in Morigaon region comprises of 35,825 houses in the sub-district.

Water Connection :

Raha is a sub-division under Nagaon region. It has 35,825 houses in the sub-district. In Raha, about 50% of the houses have access to safe drinking water. While the major sources of water used by

Religious groups/demography in the constitution :

More than half of the communities residing in the constituency are Hindus, Muslim and Christian, where the percentage share is about 70.22%%, 28.41% and 1.02%, respectively. The different types minority groups residing in the constituency are Sikh, Buddhist, Jain and other religion. Here's the table given below :












Other Religion



Caste and Tribes in the Constituency :

Raha is a Development Block under the distric, Nagaon with an inhabitants of around 1175,125 peoples, among them about 20% of the residents are Scheduled Tribes. While, Scheduled Caste constitutes about only 16.6% and the remaining amount of percentage are the General Category.




Schedule Caste 29,152



Schedule Tribe 36,529



Top 3 city under bthe Constitution :

There are no towns or cities in the Raha Constituency.

Male/Female Electoral Distribution :

Raha Constutuency has around 167237 registered votes. It comprises 85057 males and 82180 females.

Sex Ratio :

As per 2011 Census Record, the sex ratio of Raha Circle is 999 females per 1000 males.

Age Group Distribution :

In Raha Assembly Constitution about 15% population is under six years of age.

Polling Percentage of Last Three Years :

The Assembly of Raha Constituency witnessed a polling percentage of 49.79% during Lok Sabha/ Parliamentary elections 2019. Secondly, during the Assembly election of Assam 2016, it saw about 47.6%. And thirdly, it witnessed a polling percentage of 41.67% during Lok Sabha/Parliamentary Election 2014. The chart of polling percentage of different years is given below :

Result of last five elections :

• In the 1996 Assembly election of Assam, the candidate Gahin Ch Das of AGP had won the MLA seat with 40254 votes.

• In the 2001 Assembly Election, the candidate of INC Dr Ananda Ram Baruah won the MLA seat with 47700 votes.

• In the following 2006 Assam Assembly Election, the candidate of AIUDF Guneswar Das won the election with 32972 votes and became the MLA.

• In the 2011 Assembly Election, the candidate of INC Pijush Hazarika won the MLA seat with 56430 votes.

• In prior to Assembly Election of Assam 2016, Dimbeswar Das of BJP won the MLA election against Pijush Hazarika of INC with 876941 votes. Now Dimbeswar Das of BJP is the present MLA of Assembly Constituency of Raha. Here's the table given below for detailed information :




Total Vote


Dimbeswar Das




Pijush Hazarika




Guneswar Das




Dr Ananda Ram Baruah




Gahin Ch Das



The percentage vote share of the political parties in the previous election :

• In the Assembly Election of Assam 2016, Dimbeswar Das of BJP emerged as a winner of the MLA seat by securing 47.6% of votes.

• Sashi Kanta Das of INC was the runner up with 27.14 % of votes.

• The third position was secured by Guneswar Das of AIUDF with 23.99% of votes.

While in the fourth position None of The Above (NOTA) secured 1.27% of votes.

The table below clearly shows the percentage share of votes by the political parties in the last 2016 Assam Assembly Election :

Candidate Name


Percentage Share

Dimbeswar Das



Sashi Kanta Das



Guneswar Das



None Of The Above



Candidate in the last election and result (winner and loser) :

The candidate who contested in the 2016 Assembly Election of Assam is Dimbeswar Das of BJP, Sashi Kanta Das of INC, Guneswar Das of AIUDF and None of The Above (NOTA). The winner of the Assembly Election of Assam 2016 was Dimbeswar Das of BJP with 76941 total votes whereas in least, there is None of The Above (NOTA) who secured only 2052 votes.

Here's the below table :





Dimbeswar Das



Sashi Kanta Das



Guneswar Das



None of The Above


Big-ticket scheme/projects announced in the run-up to the elections for the constituencies :

In view of the forthcoming Assembly Election of Assam 2021, Home Minister of India, Amit Shah pays visit to Nagaon district along with, Assam CM Sarbananda Sonowal and Health and Finance Minister of Assam, Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma for public rally at Batadrava. Home Minister Amit Shah also pays homage at Maha Mrityunjay Temple at Nagaon District. In comparison,

Chhattisgarh Chief Minister, Bhupesh Baghel, All India Congress Committee (AICC) General Secretary, Jitendra Sing along with, Congress leader, Rokibul Hussain, APCC chief Ripun Boralays out campaigns and rally's for "Save Assam" at Raha, Nagaon District for the forthcoming Legislative Assembly Election of Assam, 2021.

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News