Goalpara East Assembly Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Goalpara East Assembly - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.
Goalpara East Assembly Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Goalpara East is serialized as the 37th assembly constituency and comes under the Dhubri Lok Sabha constituency. There is one subdivision, and the headquarters is located in the Goalpara town itself.

Assembly constituency name and number- Goalpara East, 36

Goalpara East is one among the 126 assembly constituencies of the Assam assembly constituency. It is serialized as the 37th assembly constituency and comes under the Dhubri Lok Sabha constituency. There is one subdivision, and the headquarters is located in the Goalpara town itself.

People belonging to different castes, religions and tribes are residing under the Goalpara Municipal Board. Geographically it is located at 26.17°N 90.62°E with an average elevation of 35 meters.

The population of Goalpara East is 3,09,585, according to the 2011 census reports. The 2011 census report says that 75.8% of the entire population lives in urban areas, and another 24.2% resides in rural areas.

Parliamentary Constituency

India has a total of 542 parliamentary constituencies. The general category occupies a total of 441 seats, and S.C. and S.T. categories occupy 84 & 47 seats, respectively. Bilasipara West constituency falls under the Dhubri parliamentary constituency. The Lok Sabha or the parliamentary constituency does not fall under the category of reserved seats for S.C. or S.T. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Badruddin Ajmal, who represented All India United Democratic Front, won the elections by defeating Abu Taher Bepari from the Indian National Congress. The winning margin of votes was 2,26,258. [Also Check - List of Goalpara East Assembly (Vidhan Sabha) Polling Booths]


Goalpara is an administrative district of Assam. The district headquarters is located in Goalpara itself. Earlier it was a princely state governed by the Koch Kings. The name Goalpara is taken from the word "Gwaltippika", which means the village of milkmen. Goalpara was a huge district earlier, but gradually, Kokrajhar, Bongaigaon, and Dhubri were separated and became individual districts.

Geographically the district of Goalpara occupies an area of 1,824 square kilometres.

There are four assembly constituencies under the Goalpara district, which are- Dudhnai, Goalpara East, Goalpara West and Jaleswar. Out of these four assembly constituencies, Dudhnai falls under Guwahati parliamentary constituency, and the other three are under the Dhubri constituency. Dudhnai Assembly constituency is also designated as Schedule Tribe constituency.

As per the 2011 census, Goalpara district has a population of 1008183. Out of the total number, 171657 are children belonging to 0 to 6 years of age. The census report of 2011 states that 4.5% of the entire population of Goalpara district lives are of scheduled caste, and 23% of people belong to scheduled tribes. The sex ratio of the district is 964 women for every 1000 men. The literacy rate combining both urban and rural areas is 55.91%. Additionally, there are 198458 houses in the Goalpara district.

People from all religious beliefs live in the Gualpara district. Again the 2011 census shows that Gualpara has 34.51% Hindu people, 57.52% Islamic people and 7.72% Christain people and 0.25% belonging to other religious practices.

Language-wise there are 51.80% of the people in Goalpara speak Assamese, 29.68% speak Bengali, 1.04% speak Hindi, 7.56% speak Garo, and 5.16% speak Rabha and 3.54% people speak Bodo.

Economically Goalpara is not very advanced. A report published in the year 2006 showed Goalpara as one of India's most backward districts. It also comes under one of the eleven districts of Assam, which is receiving funds from the Backward Regions Grant Fund Programme.

Goalpara also has a few tourist destinations. For example, Sri Surya Pahar, Shiva Temple at Dadan Hill, Pir Mazhar, Hulukanda Hill, Urpod Beel of Agia, Sri Tukreswari Hill and the like.

Assembly status

In the 2016 assembly elections, Goalpara East had a total of 1,88,875 registered voters. Out of the total figure, there are 95572 male voters, and 93303 are female voters. In the said election, the voter turnout percentage was 90.52%, and Abdul Kalam Rasheed, who represented the Indian National Congress (INC), won with 57,374 votes. Gauranga Prasad Das, who contested from the Bharatiya Janata Party, was the runner up and lost with a margin of 2581 votes.

Total population

The total population of Goalpara East, according to the 2011 census, is 309585. Out of the total number, 75.8% live in rural areas, and 24.2% live in urban areas.

Cast and tribe in the constituency

In Goalpara East, 6.29%% of people belong to the Scheduled Caste, and 18.69% of people are from the Schedule tribe.

Male/Female Electoral Distributions

As per the Election commission of India, Goalpara East has 188875 registered voters in the 2016 assembly elections. Out of these, 95572 are male voters, and 93303 are female voters.

Polling percentage for the last three years (which constituency has been the stronghold for which party and for how long. What has been the voting pattern)-

In the last three elections, i.e. 2014, 2016, 2019, AIUDF and INC are seen to be dominating political party gathering ample amounts of votes. AIUDF was dominant in the 2011 assembly elections, with Monowar Hussain being the winner. In the 2016 Vidhansabha elections, Abdul Kalam Rasheed of the Indian National Congress party won with 57374 votes. The runner of the same election was Gouranga Prasad Das from the Bharatiya Janata Party. Abdul Kalam Rasheed from the INC party won with a margin of 2581 votes.

In the previous assembly elections, that is, the 2011 elections, AIUDF candidate Monowar Hussain won with 36353 votes. The runner up of the same was Jyotish Das from the Assam Gana Parishad (AGP) party. The winning margin was 1842 votes.

The 2019 Lok sabha elections have Badaruddin Ajmal as the winner who represented AIUDF and won with 69684 votes, with a 46.31% share. Abu Taher Bepari was the runner up who contested from the Indian National Congress and got 34.68% of the total share of votes. The lowest of all was Alakesh Roy from the HND party, who got only 0.44% of votes.

Percentage of the vote share of political parties in the last election

The percentage of the winning party, the Indian National Congress, is 33.51%, and the runner up party that is Bharatiya Janata Party is 32%. Other losing parties AIUDF, IND and AITC got 16.22% and 7.09%, and 4.19%, respectively, as we can see that the wave of victory is weighted towards INC in the Assembly elections, which is a change from the previous assembly elections. Looking at the statistics, it can be assumed that the upcoming assembly elections might see INC as the winner.

Candidates in the last election & result (winner and Looser)

In the last assembly election, the Indian National Congress candidate Abdul Kalam Rasheed won with a total vote of 57374 with a 33.51% share. Gauranga Prasad Das from the Bharatiya Janata Party lost the battle with a margin of 2581 votes. Shadeed Majumdar from the AIUDF came in the third position by securing 27778 votes. The least of them all is Abdul Kalam Hussain, who got 12138 votes, and 1073 votes were cast against Elbarth Marak, who contested from AITC.

As observed through both the parliamentary and assembly election graph, AIUDF and INC are dominating parties in the said constituency. Therefore, in the coming elections, too, it can be predicted that AIUDF and INC seem to be in a favourable position and might win the 2021 assembly elections as well.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam