Golakganj Assembly Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Golakganj Assembly - No. of Household, Population, Winner/Runner-up in Last elections & Vote Percentage & more in Assam Assembly Elections.
Golakganj Assembly Constituency - Population, Polling Percentage, Facilities, Parties Vote Share, Last Election Results

Golakganj is serialized as the 25th assembly constituency and comes under the Dhubri Lok Sabha constituency. It comes under the Dhubri district and its headquarter is in the Dhubri itself.

Assembly constituency name and number- Golakganj, 25

Golakganj is one among the 126 assembly constituencies of the Assam assembly constituency. It is serialized as the 25th assembly constituency and comes under the Dhubri Lok Sabha constituency. There is one subdivision, and the headquarters is located in Dhubri town.

The population of Golakganj is 268486 according to the 2011 census reports. The 2011 census report says that 3.07% of the entire population lives in urban areas, and another 96.93% resides in rural areas.

Parliamentary Constituency

India has a total of 542 parliamentary constituencies. The general category occupies a total of 441 seats, and S.C. and S.T. categories occupy 84 & 47 seats, respectively. Golakganj constituency falls under the Dhubri parliamentary constituency. The Lok Sabha or the parliamentary constituency does not fall under the category of reserved seats for S.C. or S.T. In the 2019 Lok Sabha elections, Badruddin Ajmal, who represented All India United Democratic Front, won the elections by defeating Abu Taher Bepari from the Indian National Congress. The winning margin of votes was 2,26,258. [Also Check - List of Golakganj Constituency(Vidhan Sabha) Polling Booths]


Dhubri is an administrative district of Assam. The district headquarter is located in Dhubri itself, which was also the headquarter of the erstwhile undivided Goalpara district created in 1876 by the British government. Later on, when Goalpara was divided into four districts, Dhubri was designated as a separate district of Assam. Dhubri is a Muslim majority district in the state, and according to the 2011 census, it's the second most populous district of Assam after Nagaon.

Geographically the district of Dhubri occupies an area of 2,838 square kilometres. The district is bordered by both interstate and international borders. In the West, it is bordered by West Bengal and Bangladesh; in the East, it is covered by Goalpara and Bongaigaon and Garo hills of Meghalaya, Kokrajhar district in the North and Bangladesh and Meghalaya in the South. Dhubri is a plain district with a few small hillocks Dudhnath, Tokorabandha, Chandardinga, Boukumari, Chakrasila, Boropahar, etc.; these small hillocks are all situated in the North-Eastern part of the district. The Brahmaputra flows through the middle of the district from East to West along with its tributaries like Gourang, Champabati, Gadaghar, Tipkai, Gangadhar, Silai, Sankosh, Jinjiram etc., The average rainfall of the district is 2,916mm annually.

There are two divisions in the district, which are- Bilasipara and Dhubri (Sadar). Additionally, there are eight revenue circles and seven tehsils with eight police stations and four basic towns.

As per the 2011 census, Dhubri district has a population of 1,949,256 with 240th ranking in all India basis. The population density of the district is 1,171 inhabitants per square kilometre. From the year 2001 to 2010, Dhubri has seen a population growth of 24.4%, and it has a literacy rate of 59.36%. The sex ratio of the district is 952 females for every 1000 male.

Dhubri is primarily dependent on forest and agricultural products for its economy. Paddy is the main source of earning for the inhabitants of Dhubri. The major share of the crops are- jute and mustard; additionally, wheat, maize, sugar cane and pulses are also grown moderately in the district.

When it comes to transportation, Dhurbri has an airport in Rupshi, which is 15 kilometres away from the town, which was formed by the British government during the Second World War; however, the airport is now totally closed and out of service.

Apart from it, the place has a railway station that is functioning smoothly, and the 37 national highway passes through the middle of the town, which is one of the major routes to connect Assam with West Bengal.

Total population

The total population of Golakganj, according to the 2011 census, is 268486. Out of the total number, 96.93% live in rural areas, and 3.07% live in urban areas.

Cast and tribe in the constituency

In Golakganj, 5.74% of people belong to the Scheduled Caste, and 0.54% of people are from the Schedule tribe.

Male/Female Electoral Distributions

As per the Election commission of India, Golakganj has 93155 registered voters in the 2016 assembly elections. Out of these, 83923 are male voters, and 177078 are female voters.

Polling percentage for the 2016 Assembly Elections

The polling percentage in the Assembly election of 2016 was 91.2% in Golakganj constituency.

Percentage of the vote share of political parties in the last five election

1) In the 1996 Assam Assembly Elections, Alauddin Sarkar who contested from CPI won the Golakganj seat with 37264 votes. He defeated Dinesh Chandra Sarkar who contested from BJP.

2) In the 2001 Assam Assembly Elections, Dinesh Chandra Sarkar from BJP party won the Golakganj seat with 48808 votes. He defeated Alauddin Sarkar who was contesting from CPI.

3) In the 2006 Assam Assembly Elections, Abu Taher Baperi who contested from INC won the Golakganj seat with 36680 votes. He defeated Dinesh Chandra Sarkar of BJP party.

4) In the 2011 Assam Assembly Elections Abu Taher Baperi from INC party won the Golakganj seat with 59320 votes. He defeated Aswini Roy Sarkar of BJP party.

5) In the 2016 Assam Assembly Elections, Aswini Roy Sarkar from BJP party won the Golakganj seat with 74644 votes. He defeated Abdus Subahan Ali Sarkar who contested from INC.

Candidates in the last election & result (winner and Looser)

In the last assembly election, the Bharatiya Janata Party candidate Aswini ROy won with a total 74644 votes with a 46.2% share. Abdus Subahan Ali Sarkar who contested from INC lost the battle with 68253 votes. Safer Ali Ahmed from AIUDF came in the third position by securing 16843 votes.




Aswini Roy


73423 (45.66%)

Abdus Subahan Ali Sarkar


68253 (42.25%)

Safer Ali Ahmed


16843 (10.43%)

Jalal Uddin Khan


814 (0.5%)

None of the above



Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam