Home » NORTH EAST INDIA NEWS » LOCAL SPORTS » Lawn Bowling Association Assam Felicitate Medal Winners

Lawn Bowling Association Assam Felicitate Medal Winners

Lawn Bowling Association Assam

Our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI: The Lawn Bowling Association Assam today felicitated its players who won medals from different national and international meets recently. The felicitation ceremony was presided over by President of Lawn Bowling Association Assam Durgadas Boro and was graced by Siddhartha Bhattacharya, minister of Education.

Tania Choudhury of Assam becoming the first ever Indian to win an international women’s individual event medal bagging a bronze in the Asia Pacific Lawn Bowls Championships at Gold Coast in Australia last month. Tania also bagged a bronze in women’s triples partnering Rupa Rani Tirkey and Sarita Tirkey in the same championship at Gold Coast. India was represented by as many as five bowlers from Assam in the said championship.

They are: Tania Choudhury, Nayanmoni Saikia, Bangita Hazarika, Anand Narzary, Mridul Borgohain. Apart from Tania the other four players, who accompanied her in Gold Coast, were also felicitated today in the function. It may be mentioned here that Nayanmoni Saikia, Bangita Hazarika, Anand Narzary and Mridul Borgohain earlier won medals in different championships. The other medal winners present in today’s function were Ananya Saikia, Mridul Bora, Ruptu Gogoi, Putul Sonowal, Dipankar Sarma, Bitupan Rabha, Amiya Gogoi, Benazir Rashid and Anwesha Bora.

 Also Read: Assam Emerge Champions In National Lawn Bowls