Mizoram News

MNF President Zoramthanga to be sworn in as next Chief Minister of Mizoram

Chief Minister

Aizawl: Mizo National Front (MNF) President Zoramthanga would be sworn-in as the next Chief Minister of Mizoram on December 15, 2018 at Raj Bhavan in Aizawl.

As per reports, state’s Governor Kummanam Rajasekharan formally invited Zoramthanga on December 12 to form the next government in the state after receiving the signed notification of the result from the Election Commission.

Zoramthanga-led MNF had staked claim to form the government on December 11 after his party secured a landslide victory by winning 26 seats in the 40-member Mizoram House.

The Governor also dissolved the seventh state legislative assembly during the day to pave the way for the constitution of the eighth assembly.

Also, Outgoing Congress Chief Minister Lal Thanhawla had submitted his resignation an hour before Zoramthanga had staked the claim.

According to officials, it is yet not clear whether all 12 members of the council of ministers would be sworn-in along with Zoramthanga on December 15.