Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) wins two out of three Constituencies in Udalguri

BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) leader and member in the Rajya Sabha from Assam


Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 May 2021 3:55 AM GMT

TANGLA: BJP (Bharatiya Janata Party) leader and member in the Rajya Sabha from Assam, Biswajit Daimary won by a landslide margin of over 35,000 votes defeating his arch-rival Karuna Kanta Swargiary of BPF (Bodoland People's Front) from Paneri constituency. In the 2011 Assam assembly elections, Kamali Basumatari of BPF won from the constituency by defeating Santiuse Kujur of India National Congress (INC) by a margin of 556 votes.

In the 2016 State Assembly elections, Kamali Basumatari again won from the constituency by defeating independent candidate Nanda Ram Baro by a margin of 15,802 votes but this time the incumbent MLA from Paneri LAC was denied a ticket and Karuna Kanta Swargiary was projected.

In Udalguri, UPPL (United People's Party Liberal) candidate and Bodoland Territorial Council (BTC) Deputy CEM, Govindo Basumatary won by defeating BPF strongman and Cabinet Minister, Rihon Daimary who continuously represented the constituency for four terms holding important cabinet portfolios for three terms. In Mazbat, sitting MLA and BPF candidate, Charan Boro retained the seat by defeating BJP candidate, Jitu Kishan who is known as a close aide of NEDA convener Dr Himanta Biswa Sarma.

Also Watch: Assam Election Result, 2021: Margherita Congress candidate Manoranjan Borgohain confident of winning

Also Read: BJP-led 'Mitrajoot' wins three LACs in Lakhimpur; 'Mahajoot' gets one

Next Story