Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

BJP-led 'Mitrajoot' wins three LACs in Lakhimpur; 'Mahajoot' gets one

Finally, making an end to all political speculations, Bhartiya Janata Party-led Mitrajoot Bhartiya Janata Party


Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  3 May 2021 3:51 AM GMT


LAKHIMPUR: Finally, making an end to all political speculations, Bhartiya Janata Party-led Mitrajoot (Bhartiya Janata Party, Asom Gana Parishad, United People's Party Liberal and Sanmilito Gana Shakti, Asom Alliance) has stamped victory in three Legislative Assembly Constituencies (LACs) out of four in Assam Legislative Assembly Election, 2021 in Lakhimpur district. On the other hand, Congress-led Mahajoot has won one LAC of the district.

BJP candidates have won the No. 109 Bihpuriya LAC, No. 111 Lakhimpur LAC and 112 Dhakuakhana LAC while Congress candidate won the No. 110 Naiboicha LAC.

In No. 109 Bihpuriya LAC, BJP candidate Dr Amiya Kumar Bhuyan has won the seat by defeating his nearest contestant, Congress candidate Bhupen Kumar Borah.

In No. 110 Naiboicha LAC, Congress candidate Bharat Narah defeated Raijor Dal candidate Azizur Rahman.

On the other hand, BJP candidate Manab Deka has won the No. 111 Lakhimpur LAC by defeating Congress candidate Dr Joy Prakash Das.

Similarly, existing State Panchayat and Rural Development Minister-cum-BJP candidate Naba Kumar Doley once again grabbed victory in No. 112 Dhakuakhana LAC. In the election, he defeated Congress candidate Padma Losan Doley.

In the district, a total of 32 candidates, representing the major political parties of the State, including independent candidates, were in the fray. The eight candidates contested in No. 109 Bihpuriya LAC while a total of 12 candidates were in the fray in No. 110 Naoboicha LAC. Similarly, seven candidates were in the contest in No 111 Lakhimpur LAC while five candidates took part in the poll fight in No. 112 Dhakuakhana LAC. Polling was conducted in the district on March 27 along with 47 LACs of Upper Assam as part of the first phase of the election.

Also Read: Assam Assembly Election 2021 Update: BJP Wins 14, Leading in 43; Congress Wins 5, Leading in 25, UPPL Wins 2 Leads 5

Also watch: Assam Election Result, 2021: Candidates thank people after winning

Next Story