Home » NORTH EAST INDIA NEWS » ASSAM NEWS » Bodo Cine Artistes’ Association holds 10th convention at Holtugaon

Bodo Cine Artistes’ Association holds 10th convention at Holtugaon

Bodo Cine


KOKRAJHAR: Lingshar Basumatary and Gemshri Daimary received the Best Actor award in the 3rd Bodo Film Award function held at Holtugaon Tiniali in Kokrajhar district on Sunday.

The 10th annual convention of Bodo Cine Artistes’ Association (BCAA) was also held with a two-day colourful programme in the same venue. Several artistes, producers, directors, choreographers, singers, writers and make-up artistes took part in the convention. Noted Assamese film producer Manju Borah, president of the Bodo Sahitya Sabha (BSS), Taren Boro and Sahitya Akademi awardee and actor Dr. Anjali Daimary spoke on the occasion in the open session.

 Attending the 3rd Bodo Film Award function in the evening as chief guest, the deputy chief of BTC, Kampa Borgoyary said the Bodo film industry was not behind other advanced communities in the region and it was doing its best. He, however, admitted that there was lack of infrastructure in BTC region for screening Bodo films. He said the council was trying its best to develop the film industry.

Borgoyary said the culture itself had vast connotation that had to be preserved. He said some of the Bodo musical instruments were being taken away by others and the use of some basic traditional instruments of the Bodos had decreased. He urged all to preserve the traditional musical instruments.

Meanwhile, the chairman of the Jury Board of Bodo Film Award, Manjil Basumatary said the 3rd Bodo Film award was organized on that day. Lingshar Basuamtary and Gemshri Daimary were adjudged as the best male and female actors of 2018 for the films Onnai and Gambari respectively. Besides, Narajit Narzary and Riya Brahma won the award for best supporting actors for the films Lwgwri and Onnai respectively while R. Rwndao was adjudged as the best director for the film Lwgwri. Mwnswm Basumatary and Nitamani were adjudged best singers for the film Fagli while Onnai produced by RB Film Productions was adjudged as the best film of the year.

  Pabindra Daimary received the award for best screenplay for Mwnfinnai Borad, Thaklai Narzary received the best villain award for Onnai while Khagen Boro and Teuthang Mashahary received best composer award for Beer and Onnai respectively. Mendela and Amar Boro received award for best actor in comic role for Udangshri and Mwnfinnai Borad fil respectively.

For the yeard 2017, Leena Basumatary and Birmal Mashahary received the best male and best female actor award for Lwrgi Dinga and Mr. Sanjari respectively while Fuji Basumatary and Manaj Basumatary were adjudged as the best supporting actors for the films Ang Boro and Mr. Sanjari respectively.

Also Read: Main pillar of Bodo cine artistes’ award function laid by artiste Riya Brahma

Also Watch: AASU hangs effigies of State Ministers in Kokrajhar against CAB