Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Final electoral rolls for BTC election released in Chirang

Final electoral rolls for BTC election released in Chirang

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  6 March 2020 4:18 AM GMT

Our Correspondent

Bongaigaon: The final publication of electoral rolls for 13-Chirang (ST), 14-Chirang Duar (ST) and 15- Kajalgaon (ST) Bodoland Territorial Constituencies (BTCC) was formally released by the Returning Officer (DEO) and Deputy Commissioner of Chirang, Gautam Talukdar in a meeting held on Thursday at the conference hall of the Deputy Commissioner’s office, Chirang in the presence of Assistant Returning Officers and local representatives of political parties.

Addressing the gathering, Returning Officer Talukdar informed that the total number of voters of 13-Chirang (ST) BTCC was 60,358 with 30,411 males, 29,946 females and 1 third gender, total number of voters of 14-Chirang Duar (ST) BTCC was 50,103 with 24,991 males, 25,111 females and 1 third gender and of 15-Kajalgaon (ST) BTCC it was 34,924 with 28,192 males and 28,800 females.

“As compared to the total voters in the last BTC election in 2015, the number of voters in these constituencies has increased by 11.17 per cent, 11.79 per cent and 10.45 per cent respectively in the final electoral rolls of 2020,” he added. He further said that as per the schedule of BTC election, 2020, the final list of these polling stations would be published on March 10, 2020. In the meeting, he called upon the representatives of political parties to urge the voters to exercise their rights as there was a saying that wider participation was needed for a healthy democracy. “Unless people participate in the election process there will be no clean and fair election,” he further added.

The meeting was attended by Additional Deputy Commissioners Karmadev Brahma, Biswajit Goswami, Election Officer Jogadish Brahma, other officials and the representatives of BJP, Congress (I), BPF and UPPL.

KOKRAJHAR: With the direction of the Assam State Election Commission, the Returning Officers and Deputy Commissioners of Kokrajhar and Chirang, PP Mazumdar and Gautam Talukdar respectively, published the final electoral rolls of 11 constituencies of Kokrajhar and seven constituencies of Chirang district on Thursday. The final electoral rolls published in Kokrajhar include-Guma (Open) with total voters 56,536, Srirampur (Non-ST) with 45,577 voters, Jomduar (ST) with 45,444 voters, Saraibil (ST) with 56,310 voters, Kachugaon (ST) with 55,595 voters, Dotma (ST) with 45,566 voters, Fakiragram (Non ST) with 69,344 voters, Banargaon (ST) with 53,873 voters, Debargaon (ST) with 61,354 voters, Baokhgungri (ST) with 46,164 voters and Salakati (ST) with 49,836 voters.

Also Read: Hagrama Mohilary declares names of two more candidates for BTC election

Also Watch: Coal laden truck overturns at Tinsukia-Makum bypass road, Driver injured

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News