Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya Award Conferred to Dr. Arupa Patangia Kalita

Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya Award Conferred to Dr. Arupa Patangia Kalita

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  28 Oct 2019 9:46 AM GMT

A Correspondent

Golaghat: The Educational Trust of Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya, one of the premiere vernacular medium schools in Golaghat, has introduced an award entitled ‘Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya Award’ from this year.

The first Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya Award was conferred to renowned novelist and Sahitya Akademi Award winner Dr. Arupa Patangia Kalita. A ceremony was held at the Golaghat Amateur Theatre Society auditorium on Sunday. Dr Arupa Patangia Kalita was welcomed with traditional Gayan Bayan and was given warm felicitation by the school authorities. The students performed the school anthem. After that a meeting was held which was presided over by the president of the Board of Directors of Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya, Dr Ajit Baruah. Renowned writer and intellectual Dr Basanta Kumar Goswami was present as guest of honour.

In the meeting, Dr Arupa Patangia Kalita was conferred with the first Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya Award which consisted of an award, a citation letter, seleng chadar, sofura and a draft of Rs 20,000. Also a public felicitation ceremony was held where Dr Kalita was felicitated by several educational institutions, organizations and individuals.

Dr Arupa Patangia Kalita in her speech said that she had received several awards in her life, including the prestigious Sahitya Akademi Award, but this Golaghat Jatiya Vidyalaya Award made her feel more special and happy as it was given by her own people from her native place. She became nostalgic remembering her childhood and teenage days spent in Golaghat. She appealed to the new generation not to forget their roots.

Also Read: Noted Bodo Writer awarded with Upendra Nath Brahma Soldier of Humanity Award, 2019

Also Watch: Titabor Model Hospital Inaugurated by Minister of State for Health Pijush Hazarika

Next Story