TAC Election Results: BJP emerges as the winner, won 34 out of 36 seats

BJP swept off the polls by winning 34 seats out of the 36 seats. AGP and Congress party won one seat each in Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) elections
TAC Election Results: BJP emerges as the winner, won 34 out of 36 seats

Guwahati: The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) has put up a stellar performance in the Tiwa Autonomous Council (TAC) elections, as it swept off the polls by securing 34 out of 36 seats. While the other two seats were won by the Congress party and the Asom Gana Parishad (AGP).

It is a continuous win for BJP after the Bodoland Territory Elections (BTC). The Congress party yet again faced a setback.

After the results were out, the BJP workers were seen celebrating their victory outside the counting centres.

TAC elections were held on December 17, 2020. A total of 3, 08, 409 voters sealed the fate of the 124 candidates who contested the elections. The counting of votes started from 8 AM onwards today. In the light of the ongoing COVID-19 pandemic, tight security and pandemic protocols were followed by the officials today.

Elections for 36 council constituencies in parts of Morigaon, Nagaon, Hojai and Kamrup (M) districts had begun at 7:30 am and ended at 4:30 pm in as many as 410 polling stations on December 17. An estimated 65% voter turnout was recorded in the election for the TAC on Thursday. 75% voting was recorded in 19 constituencies of Morigaon district till 4:30 pm, while 67.57% in 10 constituencies of Nagaon, 74% in lone Kaki constituency in Hojai and 47.26% voting were recorded in six constituencies of Kamrup (M) district till 4:30 pm. Around 67.57% polling was recorded in 10 constituencies of Nagaon district.

All eyes were particularly on the Damal constituency where the fight was between current Chief Executive Member of Tiwa Council Paban Manta, a BJP candidate and AGP candidate Niraj Bordoloi. Another key contest was in the No 18 Charipunia Chabukdhara constituency where the tussle was between Morigaon MLA Rama Kanta Deuri's son and BJP candidate Madan Deuri and Congress candidate Dulal Deuri. The No 18 Charipunia Chabukdhara constituency is also the home town of Rama Kanta Deuri.

Top Headlines

No stories found.
Sentinel Assam