Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Total 37 nominations filed in Chirang district

Total 37 nominations filed in Chirang district

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  19 March 2020 4:11 AM GMT


Kokrajhar/Bongaigaon: As per schedule, the filing of nomination for ensuing Bodoland Territorial Council election, 2020 ended on Wednesday. On the last day, several candidates of BPF, UPPL, BJP, Congress (I) and other independent candidates filed their nomination forms for three different constituencies under Kajalgaon Sadar Subdivision and for four constituencies under Bijni Civil subdivision in Chirang district.

As per the list, Saikong Basumatary of BPF, Maoti Brahma Hazoary of UPPL, Bidhyut Sarania of GSP, Alok Basumatary of BJP and Pulmuti Basumatary of VPI filed their nominations for 13- Chirang (ST) BTC Constituency.

In 14- Chirang Duars (ST) BTC constituency, Kampa Borgayari (BPF), Ranjit Basumatary (UPPL), Jaseph Basumatary (Ind) and Binod Narzary (VPI) had submitted their nomination forms.

Paniram Brahma (BPF), Rwngwra Narzary (UPPL), Binod Brahma (Cong-I), Arpana Das (GSP) and Sabendra Basumatary (VPI) also filed nomination papers from 15- Kajalgaon (ST) BTC segment in Kajalgaon Sadar Subdivision under Returning Officer, Chirang.

On the other hand, in Kajalgaon Sadar Subdivision, James Basumatary (BPF), Nirmal Brahma (UPPL) and Jamuna Boro Patoary (GSP) filed their nomination papers from 16- Nichima (ST) BTCC.

Likewise, Guneswar Basumatary (UPPL), Prabhat Basumatary (BPF), Arun Narzary (Cong-I) and Bijoy Deka (GSP) filed papers for 17-Subhaijhar (ST) BTCC. In 18- Manas Serfang (ST) BTCC, Suresh Daimary (UPPL), Dhananjay Basumatary (BPF), Sibnath Brahma (BJP), Atin Hazong (Ind), Jyatish Chandra Das (Ind) and Saraswati Ray (GSP) filed their nominations, while Inamul Hoque (GSP), Patrthajit Ray (AGP), Chentu Chaklader (Ind), Abu Sayed Anchari (UPPL), Khalilur Rahman (AIUDF), Nripen Sutradhar (Ind), Abhiram Mahanayak (BJP), Munmun Ray (Ind), Moniul Muchahary (Ind) and Lankeswar Dev Roy (CPI-M) submitted nominations from 19-Thuribari BTC constituency.

Total 14 candidates in Kajalgaon Sadar subdivision and total 23 candidates in Bijni Civil Subdivision filed their nomination papers till the last day of filing nomination in Chirang district.

Scrutiny of nomination papers will be held on Thursday from 11.00 AM in the conference hall of the Deputy Commissioner’s office, Chirang and names can be withdrawn till March 21, 2020.

There are total 60,358 voters in 13- Chirang (ST) BTCC, 50,103 in 14- Chirang Duars (ST) BTCC and 56,992 voters in 15- Kajalgaon (ST) BTCC in Kajalgaon Sadar Subdivision. In Bijni Civil Subdivision, 16- Nichima (ST) BTCC has 44,282 voters, 17- Subhaijhar (ST) BTCC has 53,326, 18- Manas Serfang (ST) BTCC has 50,275 and 19- Thuribari BTCC has 53,933 voters, who will cast their votes on April 4, 2020.

Also Read: Rajya Sabha Poll in Assam: Five aspirants collect forms for nominations

Also Watch: East Siang District Administration in Arunachal Pradesh cautious over corona virus

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News