Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Two Hardcore NSCN (K) rebels held near Assam Border at Zeliangrong

Two Hardcore NSCN (K) rebels held near Assam Border at Zeliangrong

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  20 July 2019 12:11 PM GMT

Silchar: Based on secret information on Friday, SDPO Lakhipur Anurag Sarmah along with his staff apprehended Kabigai Rongmai, the former finance secretary of NSCN (K) of Zeliangrong Region and recently deflected to NSCN (R) at Jirighat-Namdailong Road.

Immediately on the basis of input retrieved after preliminary interrogation, an operation was launched with 37 Assam Rifles at Namdailong and Alubazar and Shantipur.

At the end of the night-long operation, the police and Assam Rifles team apprehended one Raiphulung alias Raul the NSCN (K) Chairman of Zeliangrong region.

During a search of his hideout, one M16 Rifle with one magazine and 18 live round were recovered from his possession.

The operation was carried out with 37 Assam Rifles along with my PSOs and assistance of OC Jirighat. Assam Rifles team was led by Lt. Col Jyoti Lama and Major Ganesh Mehra.


The National Socialist Council of Nagaland (NSCN) is a Naga nationalist insurgent group operating mainly in Northeast India, with minor activities in northwest Myanmar (Burma) until 2012. The main goal of the organisation is to establish a sovereign Naga state, "Nagalim", which would consist of all the areas inhabited by the Naga people in Northeast India and Northwest Myanmar.

Two major factions of NSCN include NSCN (K), led by S. S. Khaplang; and NSCN (I-M), led by Isak Chishi Swu and Thuingaleng Muivah. On November 6, 2015, in response to an attack on an army convoy in Manipur India designated The NSCN (K) a terrorist organization under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act. India's Ministry of Home Affairs labels NSCN a major insurgent group.

After India's independence, some Naga leaders tried to assert independence. In 1975, the separatist Naga National Council (NNC) gave up violence and signed the Shillong Accord with the Government of India. Some of the NNC leaders disapproved of this peace treaty: these leaders included Isak Chishi Swu of Sumi (Sema) tribe, Thuingaleng Muivah of Tangkhul tribe and SS Khaplang. These leaders formed the NSCN as a new separatist organization, which has been described as a Maoist breakaway group of the Naga National Council.

Also Read: Self-Styled Area Commander of NSCN-IM arrested in killing of MLA Tirong Aboh in Arunachal

Next Story