Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Romen Dutta elected new President of Assam Cricket Association

Romen Dutta elected new President of Assam Cricket Association

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  13 Jan 2019 7:01 AM GMT

Our Sports Reporter

GUWAHATI: Three of the six officer bearers of the Assam Cricket Association today elected through ballot during its Annual General Meeting held at the ACA stadium, Barsapara here today. Romen Dutta was elected as the new president while Parikshit Dutta and Tridip Konwar would be the Vice President and the Treasurer respectively.

Although the strength of the Apex Council of the Assam Cricket Association is six but three of them-secretary, Joint Secretary and Apex Council member, were earlier elected un opposed. Election was necessary for the remaining three posts which however turned out to be a one sided affair.

For the post of president Romen Dutta defeated Pradip Buragohain 21-9 margin. Parikshit Dutta, received highest votes among the three winners, defeated Preetam Konwar 24-6. On the other hand Tridib Konwar won the Treasurer post beating Prakash Deka, received highest votes among the loosers, 19-11.

Reacting after the election Pradip Buragohain, who is the secretary of outgoing committee, told the local media, “I have nothing to say. In election anything could be happened and I have taken the defeat sportingly. Wish good luck to the members of new committee.”

On the other hand newly elected president Romen Dutta said, “A huge responsibility has been entrusted on me and I along with my team will try our best to take forward cricket in Assam. Priority will be given to the development of cricket.”

Several former cricketers, including Rajesh Bora, Deep Borah, Nasir Gul Khan, were present at the ACA stadium during the meeting. Later they meet the newly elected committee and urged to take some positive steps so that long dream to produce Test cricketers from Assam can be fulfilled.

New committee of Assam Cricket Association:- President: Romen Dutta. Secretary: Devajit Saikia. Vice President: Parikshit Dutta. Treasurer: Tridib Konwar. Joint Secretary: Kamakhya Saikia. Apex Council Member: Saibal Sengupta.

Also Read: Annual General Meeting of Assam Cricket Association in Guwahati

Next Story
Jobs in Assam
Jobs in Rest of NE
Top Headlines
Assam News