Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Balajeid wins Shella by a massive margin

Balajeid wins Shella by a massive margin

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  25 Oct 2019 3:23 AM GMT

Staff Correspondent

Shillong: United Democratic Party (UDP) candidate Balajeid Kupar Synrem registered a landslide victory in the prestigious Shella constituency. His win by a margin of 6,221 votes also shattered his late father’s record of winning for eight consesucutive times from the constituency with a three digit figure margin.

Synrem, the son of the late Dr Donkupar Roy polled 12,202 votes while his nearest rival Grace Kharpuri (Independenet) polled 5,721 votes, followed by the candidate from the Peoples Democratic Front (PDF), Congress and the BJP.

The counting process started as early as 8 am but the official announcement was made at around 3.45 pm. Notwithstanding the delay, the margin of the victory also took many political pundits by surprise.

The victory also ensured that the UDP retained its bastion for the eight consecutive time besides retaining the legacy of late Dr Roy. Speaking to newsmen soon after coming out from the office of the Sub- divisional Magistarte, Balajied listed out his prioties.

He mentioned about the road and communication issues which critics have been pointing out for a long time. “I will definely take the road issue with utmost importance besides carrying ahead with the other issues left behind by my father”, stated the soft-spoken Synrem. When pressed with other questions, he said that this is his first day and answers to all other querries will come forward in the days to come.

While there was jubilation in the residence of the winning candidate, disappointment was visible in the offices of the losing candidate who had slogged hard with a view to dislodge the citadel of the late Dr Roy.

Reports coming in stated the the newly-elected MLA will be sworn in on Friday.

Also Read: Shella by-poll: High percentage turnout recorded

Also Watch: BJP retains Three Assembly seats out of Four in Assam By-polls 2019

Next Story