Begin typing your search above and press return to search.

Campaigning for Ranikor, South Tura by-polls ends

Campaigning for Ranikor, South Tura by-polls ends

Sentinel Digital DeskBy : Sentinel Digital Desk

  |  22 Aug 2018 7:45 AM GMT


SHILLONG: Campaigning for the crucial by-elections to Ranikor and South Tura constituencies ended on Tuesday evening.

Political parties, eyeing to win the by-elections in their last attempted to woo the voters in their favour. The National People’s Party (NPP) which is leading the ruling Meghalaya Democratic Alliance (MDA) coalition government is looking to consolidate its position by winning both the seats, while the opposition Congress will try to wrest the seats just to prove a point.

The United Democratic Party (UDP) which is a partner in the MDA coalition while it did not field any candidate for South Tura, however has put up a candidate in Ranikor constituency. In South Tura, the UDP is supporting Chief Minister, Conrad K Sangma. It may be mentioned that after the results of the February 27, polls the UDP was instrumental in making Conrad the Chief Minister of Meghalaya. However, for Ranikor UDP has given the ticket to Pius Marwein. In South Tura, there are four candidates – Chief Minister Conrad K Sangma from the National People’s Party (NPP), Charlotte W Momin of the Congress, former MLA John Leslee K Sangma and Chris Kabul A Sangma will contest as an independents. Both Leslee and Kabul resigned from the NCP and the UDP respectively to contest the polls. In Ranikor, too there are four candidates apart from Marwein of the UDP, the NPP will field Congress deserter Martin M Danggo, the People’s Democratic Front (PDF) has fielded former Mawsynram legislator, Pynshngain N Syiem. The Congress has put up former student leader, Jackuish K Sangma.

In South Tura assembly constituency the polling station with the highest voters is Matchkolgre with 1358 votes, Leper Colony is the smallest polling station with 151 voters. Six polling stations will be webcasted. Also there will be one all women polling stations and two model polling stations. There will be one special polling station for Persons With Disabilities. The polling percentage recorded in the Legislative Assembly polling held in February 27 this year was 73.59 percent.

Meanwhile, for the Ranikor Assembly Constituency the polling station with highest voters is Nongkdait with 901 voters, while the smallest is Nongbahjynrin with 63. There are also ten non motor able polling stations. Voting in three polling stations will be webcasted. There will be one all women polling and one model polling stations. There is one polling station near the international border and one polling station is close to Elephant corridor.

Poll percentage in assembly elections held on February 27 this year recorded 89.5 percent.

Next Story